Emotion For Hurst In Dubuque Victory


DUBUQUE, Iowa – Jeremiah Hurst has won many, but the Season Championship at his hometown Dubuque Speedway is always special.

Hurst started eighth, but made his run to the front quick, taking the point for good on lap five and won Sunday’s Eichman’s Bar & Grill IMCA Late Model 25-lapper at Dubuque.

“It’s always special to win here,” Hurst said. “We’ll just keep winning.”

The finale had to go to overtime as runnerup Joel Callahan slammed the turn two wall and finally stopped on turn four as the white flag was ready to fly.

Hurst beat Jeff Tharp, Eric Pollard, Nebraska’s and IMCA National point leader Cory Dumpert and Donnie Pataska.on the green-white-checkered finish.

“That (car) thing was digging holes off the turns,” Hurst said. “I knew I had to get to the bottom when I saw (Pollard) on the bottom. My car owner (Ken Roberts) and I had the same plan.”

Jeff Larson used the high shelf and sped by early leader Timmy Current late in the 20-lap Merfreld Brothers Automotive IMCA Modified finale. Current did not go easy as it was a side by side battle for several laps.

Matt Gansen, Austin Moyer and Bryce Garnhart followed.

Gage Neal took the lead early and held off Tyler Soppe for the 15-lap Peosta Warehousing Logistics IMCA SportMod win. Wes Digman, Jason Roth and Rusty Deshaw came next in a very competitive affair that was slowed by only three cautions.

Joe Zrostlik topped point leader Cole Mather in the 12-lap K Motorsports IMCA Stock Car main. Early leader Chase Zaruba, Reece Norton and Kenny Taylor followed.

Daniel Wauters continued his stronghold on the Kinsella Concrete IMCA Hobby Stocks with the 12-lap win. Shane Oberbreckling almost made the high side work, but settled for second ahead of Roger Winkers, Brandon White and Hank White.

Jacob Welter took the 4 Cylinder feature for the teen’s first 2019 win.

Jason Robbins hit the point early and won the 9:1 Limited Late Model 15-lap feature, the only Wisconsin feature victor on the night. Steve Schueller chased to the end and beat David Webster, D.J. Sweet and Jeff Schmidt to the checkers.

A total of 67 race teams hit the track for 17 total events and racing was completed about 8:30 p.m.