DeLisle Leads Toledo Winners List


TOLEDO, Ohio – A very cool and cloudy day arrived Friday at Toledo Speedway, but a fair crowd made the trip to the Glass City oval for the Glass Bowl Lanes Kids Night.

Kyle DeLisle, Tommy O’Leary and Morgan Baird captured the feature wins and visited the Sun Drop Winner’s Circle. The track also hosted Racing Fan Club (MARFC) Night, with both the Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club and Dayton Auto Racing Fan Club represented. Driver Rich Frantz was presented the MARFC duffel bag.

A large group of kids to age 14 were admitted free and received a free hot dog, chips and a drink, courtesy of Sherwood Foods, Jim’s Butcher Shop of Flat Rock, the Dr. Pepper/Snapple Group, Herr’s Potato Chips and Schwebel’s Baking Company.

Second-generation driver Kyle DeLisle jumped into the lead and stayed there to grab the victory in the 35 lap ARCA ACME Dismantling Sportsman feature. Just one yellow flag appeared as the field raced clean the entire distance. Kyle stayed in command and held back the challenge of Jim Froling to claim the win. Froling began to inch closer to Kyle with about 8 laps to go, but the LaSalle, Ontario native held the point to the checkered flag.

Froling was second, Mike Young third, Ron Allen fourth and Howard Kelley Jr. was fifth, followed by Kent McCloskey, Norm Lewallen, rookie JJ Haley, Kenny McKay Jr. and Andy Harding. Young took the 4-car dash win, with heat race victories to Harding and McCloskey. Froling set fast time for the 16 car field at 17:082.

The ARCA R & M Recycling X Cars ran a special 35 lap feature on the short track, with Tommy O’Leary leading the entire distance in the green-white-checkered flag event to capture the win over Greg Studt, Dennis Whisman, Rich Frantz, Archie Padgett, Jeff King, Rick Cousino, Matt Ringger, Randy Padgett Jr., James McClure, Kevin Huston and Eric Padgett. O’Leary and Archie Padgett took the heat wins. Studt set quick time at 11:505.

Morgan Baird sailed to the win in the 25 lap feature for the visiting Great Lakes Mini Cup Series. Baird was the class of the field and after 3 yellow flags in the first 7 laps, the field settled down and ran the final 18 laps without a yellow. 2012 Toledo race winner Kyle Trinklein had a great battle with Kim Hughes for second and the duo finished in that order.

Fourth was Stefanie Hile and Darren Bohen fifth. Tim Phillips, Justin Carley, Jon Sattison, Elliot Pritchett, Bill Rychel, Matt Kemp and Doug Higsby were next in line at the finish. Hughes and Pritchett were the heat race winners.