Dart Dashes To Luxemburg Glory


LUXEMBURG, Wis. – To finish in the top four of the IMCA Modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway you pretty much had to be from Algoma.

Three of the top four finishers call Algoma home, but it was Todd Dart who finished first in the IMCA Modified feature on Friday night.

Other feature winners included: Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stockcars), Jeremy Cota (IMCA Sportmods), Scott Boulanger (IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Keith Kickbusch (Street Stocks).

Justin Mahlberg led the opening laps of the Street Stock main event until Fred Davister took charge of the show. Davister would keep his lock onto the lead until point leader Keith Kickbusch charged to the back bumper. Kickbusch worked his way around Davister and into the lead on lap eight and never relinquished it.

Ryan Manthei started the feature in the 13th position and charged into second but ran out of laps to take his crack at the leader. Kickbusch kept his season perfect with his third feature win. Manthei finished second with Davister, Gary Kasperek and Josh Novak rounding out the top five. The feature event went caution free.

Tyler Wilson started on the pole in the IMCA Sportmod feature and quickly demanded the lead. He would work with the lead with Jeremy Cota finding his way to second. Cota would use the top of the racetrack to gain the advantage on Wilson just before a series of cautions would keep everyone close. Cota would keep the lead for the remainder of the race but not before getting a late race scare from Josh Long. With only a couple of laps remaining, Cota had to slow down for lapped traffic. Cota would dice through the remaining traffic and pick up the win with Long in tow. Ryan Lemieux finished third with Troy DeGrave and Chris Budzban fourth and fifth.

Jordan Parma graced his way into the lead for the first couple of laps in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Scott Boulanger would shoot up front and into the lead on lap three. Derek Moede would find second after a battle with Dean Anhalt. Boulanger would have to pull away after a caution with six laps remaining to secure his second win of the season. Moede and Anhalt finished second and third. Wes Salentine became the point leader after his fourth place finish. Cory Cotter finished fifth.

The bad luck was finally off the back of early race leader Rob Waechter. Waechter led from the drop of the green flag of the IMCA Stockcar feature. Waechter looked as tough as nails leading through the first cautions. Shawn Havel and Brandon Czarapata would make their way passed Waechter after a lap nine caution.

Havel would lead for three laps until giving up the winning pass to Czarapata. Czarapata would cruise to his second win of the season and increase his point lead. Waecther finished a season best third. After a last lap altercation, Tom Brumlic and Dave Bouche rounded out the top five.

Tyler Hackett started on the pole of the IMCA Modified feature and looked very fast out of the gate. Hackett shot into the lead with Todd Dart racing to second. Once racing restarted after a couple of cautions, it was a two car race. Dart was able to work the bottom of Hackett and gain the lead halfway through the race. Dart was able to pick up his first win of the season after keeping Hacket at bay in second. Shawn Kilgore made a late race charge to third with James Tebon finished fourth. Point leader Brian Mullen finished with a top five.

Previous articleMcGuire Flies To 13th Skyline Triumph
Next articleWOO: 34 Raceway
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.