Czarapata Sails Away At Luxemburg


LUXEMBURG, Wis.- The 2012 season finished with a bang, literally, with Tyler Debauche winning the Trailer Race of Destruction at Luxemburg Speedway Saturday.

Luxemburg Speedway also played host to some racing Saturday and crowned Fall Special winners in seven divisions. More than 180 cars signed into compete for the two-day classic.

Jason Czarapata went from third to first in a matter of one lap in the IMCA modified feature. That proved to be the race winning move.

Czarapata led through one caution on lap seven. Czarapata had a straightaway lead on Jay Matthias at the halfway point of the 30 lap main event. The lead would stay the same until the checkers and Czarapata would earn his second straight Fall Classic win. Matthias finished second.

Jerry Wilinski, Jared Siefert and James Tebon finished in the top five. Czarapata would lead every lap en route to his win.

Shawn Havel had a successful year in the IMCA Stockcar division. He capped off his Luxemburg run with not only the Race of Champions victory on Friday night but the main event on Saturday.

Havel started up front and held off advances from Barry Van Straten at the midway point of the race. Rob Waechter used a late race caution to make the pass for second. Waechter made several advances on Havel but finished second for the second straight time in two nights.

Van Straten finished third with Devon Snellenberger and Bret Koehler rounding out the top five.

Tracy Wassenberg opened up the Sportmod Feature with the lead over the opening two laps. Troy Jerovetz shot from fourth to the outside and into the top spot on lap three. Jerovetz would cruise in the lead and sit comfortably as Jeremy Cota battled with Wassenberg for second.

A caution with four laps remaining allowed Wassenberg to get back around Cota and set his sights on Jerovetz. Wassenberg would run to the outside of Jerovetz over the final two circuits. Jerovetz would be able to stay out front and pick up both the Race of Champions victory and the Sportmod main event.

Wassenberg settled for second place money with Cota third. Dennis Miesler won the late race battle over Eric Mahlik to finish fourth and fifth.

Derek Moede opened up the IMCA Hobby Stock main event leading the pack. Rob Waechter quickly ran to the front and passed Moede for the lead. Waechter would continue to lead until a late race caution brought the field to his back bumper. Waechter was able to hold off the late advances of Scott Boulanger to win his fifth feature of the season.

Boulanger ran second with Moede third. Sawyer Haese came from deep in the field to run fourth. Wes Salentine finished fifth.

T.J. Smith looked like the man to beat for the first ¾ of the Grand National Feature. Smith headed out front in the main and looked to be on his way to a win but Don Sorce had other ideas. Sorce used a late race caution to work his way around Smith and into victory lane.

Smith finished second. Dan Schumacher and Terry Van Roy finished in the top 4. Tony Bouche, using his IMCA Stockcar; finished fifth after starting deep in the field.

Mike King Jr went to victory lane in the Street Stock Feature using his WIR machine. King would pull away from the field until the halfway point when Jerry Kope would make his way to the back bumper of the leader.

Kope would keep at the back bumper but would not be able to make the pass. King picked up the win in his first run of the season at the speedway. Kope would beat Jerry Winkler to the line for second. Jon Ashcraft finished fourth with Gary Kasperek coming from the last chance race to finish fifth.

Ralph Liegeois Jr dominated the 4 Cylinder field and capped off a banner year at Luxemburg Speedway. Not only did he pick up his second straight track championship but also won the Fall Special as well.