Czarapata Continues Seymour Dominance


SEYMOUR, Wis. – Brandon Czarapata took the lead away from Kyle Fredrick with 10 laps remaining to claim another feature win in the IMCA Stock Cars at Seymour Super Speedway.

Other feature winners were Jason Czarapata (IMCA Modified), Cody Hokenstad (IMCA Sport Mod), Jerry Winkler (Street Stock) and Brad Wedde (Sport Fours).

Dave Hoerning paced the opening laps of the IMCA Stock Car feature before a three-wide battle ensued between the leader, Jamie Van Ooyen and Kyle Fredrick. Van Ooyen snatched the lead away on lap five but his reign up front only lasted a lap as Fredrick stormed by taking the top spot. Brandon Czarapata charged through the field catching Fredrick.

At the midway point Czarapata worked the low groove past Fredrick for the lead. Czarapata pulled away scoring a clean sweep with his sixth feature of the season. Fredrick was a strong second, Barry Van Straten had a season best third, JJ Heinz gained a point in the title chase with fourth and point leader Rod Snellenberger completed the top five.

In IMCA Modified action Eric Scribner raced away from his pole position. Point leader Jason Czarapata wasted no time racing to third from row four. Czarapata then tracked down the leader and applied constant pressure with both drivers running the same line.

Just past the midway point Czarapata went to the high side taking the lead away from Scribner. Czarapata set sail going unchallenged the rest of the way winning his 2nd feature of the season while padding his point lead. Scribner had a season best second, Jay Matthias rallied late for third, Troy Jerovetz was fourth and Marcus Yarie rounded out the top five.

Cody Hokenstad took the lead away from Tyler Wilson on lap seven and cruised to his 3rd feature win of the season. Hokenstad also scored a clean sweep by winning his heat race earlier in the night. Andy Kleczka had a great run from row 6 to second in his first visit, Joey Taycher took home third in his first visit as well, J.J. Anderson held on for fourth and Jeremy Cota brought home fifth after starting 18th.

Brad Wedde won his first feature of the year in the Sport Fours, Calvin Stueck was second and last weeks winner Josh Roehl was third. A wreck on lap 6 brought out a red flag when Dean Dekeyser broke after hitting the wall, his car then rolled down the track and was clipped by Brandon Westphal. Westphal’s car flipped and landed back on its wheels. After a very hard hit both drivers were ok.

Jerry Winkler earned his 6th win of the season in a caution filled Street Stock feature, Allan Schlueter came home second after starting in row eight, Ryan Blank was third, Mert Summers scored a fourth place and Ryan Plog had his best run of the season with fifth.

Previous articleHoward Masters AMP Sprint
Next articleWatson Masters UEMS Stop At Eriez is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.