Chasteen Controls Lincoln Big Ten Fight


LINCOLN, Ill. – A talented field of Midwest Big Ten Super Late Model drivers gathered at Lincoln Speedway Friday for their opening race of the season.

Reigning DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion Brian Shirley was the favorite coming into the night. He didn’t disappoint in qualifying, setting quick time over local favorite Myles Moos, former Big Ten champion Brian Diveley, Ryan Unzicker, and Mike Chasteen Jr. Heat race action saw Shirley and Unzicker claim the wins.

When it came time for the feature, Shirley and Unzicker led the field to green.  Shirley raced out, while Unzicker tried to make a go of it in the outside lane.  The car to watch, though, was the No. 2 of Chasteen.

The Peoria, Ill., driver was hooked up on the bottom lane of the dry-slick track and raced past Unzicker before putting Shirley behind him as well.  The race went green until lap 19 before the first yellow waved, bunching the field.  Back to racing for the final six laps, Chasteen again made easy work of the field to claim the impressive victory.

Unzicker, Shirley, Jose Parga, and Diveley completed the top five.

Other feature winners included Austin Lynn (DIRTcar modifieds), Robert Cottom (DIRTCar street stocks), Andy Baugh (Nutech Seed DII Midgets) and Danny Oates (DIRTcar hornets).