Championships Settled At Corrigan Oil Speedway


MASON, Mich. – The final night of points racing for Corrigan Oil Speedway saw all five classes settle their point battles.

Dominique VanWierigen grabbed the lead on the opening lap of the Sawyers Chevrolet Modifieds as Bill Heeney and Tim Lahar followed. On lap six, Jason Parish took over third. With 20 laps to go, VanWierigen began pulling away as a four-car battle erupted for second.

Parish used the outside to take over second with 14 laps to go. With seven laps to, Hernly uses the outside to take fourth, then third just one lap later. At the finish, VanWierigen dominated the field for the win as Parish and Hernly completed the top three. Jon McNett earned the season points championship.

Cody Hall led the field of Boss Snow Equipment Late Model Sportsman to the start of their 35-lap race. Troy Andrews led the opening lap, with Hall in second. A mess of cars battled for third, as Derek Kerns emerged from the group on lap three.

On lap seven, Kearns took over second as Steve Dorer followed in to third. Ten laps in, Dorer took over second in lapped traffic. With 20 laps to go, Dorer took the lead as Gordon Alblas and Dane Long joined the battle for third.

A restart with 18 to go saw Alblas take over second, as Long took third. With 10 to go, the top two cars pulled away. With the white in the air, Alblas got loose in turn four, giving Dorer the room he need to take the win. Alblas was second and Kearns was third. Dane Long claimed the division championship.

In other action, Joel Smith won in the Parts Place NAPA Junior Bandit Bandolero feature to claim the class championship. The Senior Bandit Bandolero feature was won by Kody King, while Mason Surgener secured the division championship. Ron Heeney won the Performance Automotive Northwest Street Stock event while Mike Havans secured the division championship. Lastly, Jason Davis won the Corrigan Oil Claimers race and Jason Davis was crowned the division champion.