Champions Crowned At Limaland

Ryan Sutter (18) and Dylan Woodling fight it out during their feature at Limaland Motorsports Park. (Mike Campbell photo)

LIMA, Ohio — Jerry Bowersock grabbed the victory in the UMP modified main event Friday night at Limaland Motorsports Park, but came up short in his bid to win the track championship.

Ryan Sutter began the night with a 10-point lead on Bowersock.  Bowersock would start on the front row alongside Todd Sherman, and set sail with the lead. Sherman hung with Bowersock throughout the feature, but to no avail, as Bowersock would survive multiple cautions to pick up the feature win, but come up just short in his bid to win a second consecutive championship, as Sutter would finish third and garner enough points to win his first K&N Filters UMP Modified Track Championship.

Kicking off the nights racing were the JLH General Contractors FAST 305 Championship Series Sprint Cars.  Luke Griffith and Bobby Clark would bring the field to green with Griffith taking the early race advantage.

Jamie Miller would make his way to second on lap three and begin stalking the leader.  Miller closed in to the rear bumper of Griffith’s No. 11G machine on lap nine, until the caution flag waved on lap 10 for Tyler Street coming to a stop at the end of the front straightaway with a broken front end.

On the restart, Millers engine would stumble, allowing Kyle Peters to charge to second. Peters would grab the lead on lap 12 and seemed to be on his way to the victory, but Miller would close back in on the leaders on lap 20, grabbing 2nd spot from Griffith, then making his run on the final lap on Peters exiting turn two.

Peters would get hung on the outside wall down the back stretch allowing Miller to get away and grab his second Limaland win of 2018. Peters would hang on for second, with Griffith third.

Completing the night were the Budweiser Thunderstocks in their 15 lap A Main. Jeff Matheny and Frank Paladino would bring the field to green with Matheny grabbing the early lead. Tony Anderson charged to second and looked to grab his fourth Bud Thunderstock Track Championship, as he came into the night leading by just two points over Daniel Sanchez.

Anderson would hound Matheny throughout the feature, trying to grab the victory. Multiple cautions would keep the field close, and Sanchez would make his way to third at the halfway point.

As the leaders came down to take the white flag, a puff of smoke came out from under Anderson’s No. 22T machine.  It looked like he would hold on as he held the second spot until turns three and four as he began to lose power coming to the checkered flag.

Sanchez, Paladino and Jordan Conover were all able to get by and Anderson limped home fifth.

While Matheny celebrated the feature win, final points were tallied up, with Anderson and Sanchez finishing in a tie for championship.  By virtue of having more wins in the 2018 season, Sanchez won the tiebreaker and was crowned the 2018 Limaland Bud Thunderstock champion.