Carlson Claims Victory At Toledo


TOLEDO, Ohio – Dakota Carlson nosed by Brian Ross with 15 laps to go on his way to victory in the Discount Tire 100 presented by PNC Bank for the ARCA Discount Tire Gold Cup Late Model Series Friday night at Toledo Speedway, his second win in a row at the Glass City oval.

The 100-lap contest saw a flurry of action early, as the first 38 laps went all green flag. Brad Riethmeyer took the point and held back charges by Brent Jack and then Jake Francis. The top 6 cars were lined up, dicing back and forth. At that lap 38 mark, DTS Drive Train Specialists fast qualifier Steve Needles (14:989) went to the high side of Francis and the duo crashed hard into the backstretch wall and the foam blocks in turn 3, bringing out the red flag.

Both drivers were done for the night and both cars sustained heavy damage. On a lap 45 restart, Ross grabbed the lead from Riethmeyer and took off out front. A pair of yellow flags slowed the event, and on lap 63, Riethmeyer had a radiator let go, coating the track with water and bringing out the red once again. Harold Fair Jr., a non-qualifier, coasted to pit road to end his tough night.

Ross now had Carlson to deal with when the race resumed, but Dakota dropped back on a restart. Carlson came charging back as his car came to life, and on lap 85 made a slick move to slide by Ross to take the point and stormed away to the victory. Ross was second and slid into the turn one wall after the checkered flag.

Brent Jack was third, Nick Bailey fourth and Dennis Strickland fifth, followed by Josh Way, Joe Hawes, Dave Stehouwer, Scott Pemberton and Steve Hawes. Riethmeyer, Fair Jr., Mike Root, Francis, Needles, Jack Landis and Jim Alvis were in that order at the finish.

Ron Allen took the lead from JJ Haley on lap 10 and zipped to victory in the 35 lap ARCA Aramark Sportsman feature race. Jim Froling used the high groove and got by Haley with 5 laps to go to grab second, Haley was third, Howard Kelley Jr. fourth and Mike Young fifth. Greg Stilwell, Tom O’Leary IV, Kenny McKay Jr., Chad Stilwell and Dan Grigsby were next in line at the finish.

Previous articleLeppo Breaks Through At Trail-Way
Next articleMake It Five Wins For Kay At Davenport is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.