Brumlic Leads Thunderhill Winners


STURGEON BAY, Wis. – Race fans were on the edge of their seat all night long with thrilling finishes as drivers did battle on a superb racing surface Saturday night at Thunderhill Raceway.

Tom Brumlic out dueled Dylan Heilmann to score his first IMCA Stock Car feature win at Thunderhill. Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Ryan LeMieux (IMCA Sport Mod), Derek Moede (IMCA Hobby Stock) and Billy LeMieux (Street Stock)

Action was halted in the first feature of the night with a red flag as Todd Wagner hit the wall head on in turn two. Wagner emerged unscathed but his No. 23w Street Stock suffered heavy damage.

Mike Wietor paced the opening laps of the IMCA Stock Car headliner before Dylan Heilmann swept through using the low groove to take the lead. Heilmann distanced himself from the from the pack as Charlie Kroll and Tom Brumlic worked through traffic. Brumlic worked to second using the high side to real in the leader. With each driver running a different groove, the stage was set for a great battle. Brumlic pulled even with Heilmann as the duo raced door to door.

Brumlic was able to find a bit more speed running the cushion and grabbed the lead for good by the midway point. Brumlic set sail, going unchallenged the remainder of the caution free contest. Heilmann edged out Kroll by a bumper for second, point leader Shawn Havel and Dave Bouche rallied late after starting deep in the field to finish in the top five.

IMCA Modified action saw James Tebon jump out to an early lead, surprising to many fans as Tebon’s car started on fire during his qualifying race. Tebon was able to pull away as Sean Jerovetz and Todd Dart slugged it out for the runner up spot. Dart was able to secure second at the midway point, setting his sights on the leader. Dart road the high groove, with Tebon down low.

Previous articleSatterlee Is An Appalachain Refugee
Next articlePhelps Tops Fulton Big Blocks is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.