Bowers Leads Central Missouri Winners


WARRENSBURG, Mo. – Steven Bowers Jr. captured the USRA Modified feature Saturday night at Central Missouri Speedway.

Bowers and Eddie Bray brought the field to the initial green flag. On lap two, Justin Moon was involved in a spin to draw an early caution. For the restart, Bowers led Terry Schultz, Bray, and Dalton Kirk. By lap five, David Wood moved inside the top five with Steve Twenter close behind. On lap six, caution flew again for Buddy Benedict’s spin in turn two. Bowers again led the charge on the restart over Schultz and Bray.

Schultz went to the high side several times looking for a line around Bowers but was unsuccessful with each attempt. On lap eight, Brian Johnson’s night came to an end with problems in the rear of the car as the caution flew for his stalled vehicle. Once again for the restart Bowers held the point with Schultz and Bray still in pursuit. Benedict’s night came to an end when he stopped on the track and was unable to continue.

On lap 10, a grinding crash occurred with Nick Pence, David Wood, Dennis Walrath, and Christopher Moon all involved. While all drivers were okay, their cars were badly damaged in the incident as emotions ran high. James Eaton suffered a flat tire as Gunner Martin was also involved in a separate incident with Eaton receiving a flat tire. By lap 15, Bowers still held strong with Schultz choosing to switch lines to the low side to try and gain ground.

By lap 20, Schultz had caught Bowers but was unable to make the pass for the lead despite several bids to take command. As the checkered flags flew, Bowers claimed his first-ever $1,000-to-win main event at CMS with Schultz coming away as runner-up for the second-consecutive week, although Schultz did take command of the point standings. Eddie Bray Jr. finished a strong third ahead of Dalton Kirk, Tim Karrick, and Danny Scrogham inside the top six. Rounding out the top ten were Gunner Martin, Dean Wille, Steve Twenter, and James Eaton.

Other winners included Gary Donaldson (Grand Nationals), Darrin Christy (Pure Stocks), Troy Turley (Street Stocks) and Jacob Ebert (B Modifieds).