Bollinger Stars In Lincoln Speedway Opener


LINCOLN, Ill. —  Lincoln Speedway endured heavy rainfall over the last seven days to race Friday night. While many passed a number of fields covered in water from recent flooding, they arrived at Lincoln Speedway which was ready to go.

The top story of the night was the DIRTcar Modified turnout. Some of the top modified drivers in the Midwest made the trip as 24 competitors were pitside. When the green flag waved on the 20-lap feature, it was Ray Bollinger racing into the lead with polesitter Brian Lynn dropping into second.

Retired NASCAR star Kenny Wallace made the trip from water-logged St. Louis and was running third early on. Wallace followed Lynn closely, trying to get a run to the inside. However, at the end of the event, Bollinger held on for his first victory of the season.

Lynn, Wallace, Mike Harrison, and Michael Long completed the top five.

One thing is certain, when Ryan Little shows up to Lincoln Speedway, everyone knows he will be a threat to win. That was the case on Friday night, as Little took the lead after a back-and-forth battle with Brandon Eskew.

The two had a good run going before Eskew dropped back in the top five.  Little’s challenges weren’t over, however, as Denny Woodworth, moved from his fourth-starting spot into second. Woodworth gave it a college try but Little was able to fend him off.  Jake Little took third, while Cody Maguire and Eskew completed the top five.

The Midwest Big Ten Street Stocks came out for their second event of the season but their first at Lincoln. Nick Macklin won his heat, which slated him in the second spot for the feature event. Macklin took the lead early and raced his way to an impressive win. Terry Reed picked up a few spots to finish second, while Andy Zahnd, Jaret Duff and Braden Bilger completed the top five.

The Nutech Seed DII Midget turnout continued to improve as 15 drivers took the green. Second starter Karter Sarff took the early lead in the 20-lap event. Mitchell Davis, a young driving veteran in the class and Andy Baugh, the winner of the first two events in 2019, ran second and third throughout.

Baugh made a couple of efforts to continue his win streak but Sarff and Davis remained out front. Following the trio at the checkered were Tyler Roth and Daltyn England. England picked up seven spots during the race for a top five.

Rounding out Friday night’s action was the DIRTcar Hornets. Eric Vanapeldoorn started on the outside pole for the 12-lap event and raced out front early. The Hornet hotshoe lived up to expectations keeping all competition behind him. Current point leader Danny Oates finished second.