Bodenhamer Tops CMS Late Model Go


WARRENSBURG, Mo. – Nice weather finally swept over the area Saturday afternoon as Central Missouri Speedway hosted its second event of the season Saturday night.

A total of 95 cars filled the pits competing in 21 races in five divisions.

Dakota Foster lined up on the front row alongside Tyler Lewis for the start of the B-Modified 15-lap feature event. Several cautions flew for single-car spins as Foster led Ethan Isaacs, Lewis, Eddie Bray and Jacob Ebert. A great battle began to take shape once at the front of the field as Isaacs pressured Foster repeatedly for the lead, Bray held court in third with Lewis and Dean Wille holding down fourth and fifth.

During the mid-stages of the race, Foster led Ethan Isaacs, Bray, Lewis, Wille, Lucas Isaacs, and Jacob Ebert during a lap-eight restart. Tyler Lewis rebounded to third on a later restart, putting the pressure on Foster up front. The fifth caution flew for another single-car spin in turn four once again bringing the race to caution.

Ethan Isaacs’ night came to a close shortly after the latest restart right as Tyler Lewis took over the second position ahead of Bray, Wille, Lucas Isaacs and Jacob Ebert inside the top six.

Lewis experienced problems on the next restart during a wild series of events with the 21 car of Dalton McKenney slamming into the turn four uke tires. His crew was able to change a left-rear tire and he rejoined the field. Troy Carlyle also experienced problems and went to the tail of the field. Lewis’ night was over with left-front damage and once again the field was bunched up for a restart.

Foster held the point for the next restart over Dean Wille, who made his way to second, Ebert third, Bray fourth, and Lucas Isaacs fifth. Another wild restart saw Jacob Ebert battle side-by-side for the win with Foster as Wille and Bray held third and fourth.

Jacob Ebert made the long wait pay off late in the race as he took advantage of a few bobbles by then leader Dakota Foster to capture the B-Modified main event. Bray ran strong in third with Wille fourth, Lucas Isaacs fifth, and Nic Bennett sixth.

Jason Bodenhamer won the last late model race at CMS in the fall of 2011 and after just a couple year’s delay, picked right back up where he left off leading all 20 laps of the ULMA late model main event, which went green to checkered. Dwight Niehoff ran a sold second the entire race distance but was unable to mount a serious charge on Bodenhamer who mastered the lapped traffic to pull away.

Behind Bodenhamer and Niehoff at the line were Jon Binning, Lane Ehlert, Dustin Walker, and Ethan Young. ULMA Late Models will return to CMS during Memorial Day weekend for two nights of action on May 24th and 25th.

The Street Stock main event looked like it was going to go green to checkers as well until a lap 13 spin brought out a late-race caution. Marc Carter started on the front row and held point for most of the race with last week’s feature winner Brett Wood running strong in second. Troy Turley, Dean Wille, Jay Lyle and Bryce McMillin found themselves running near the front late in the race.

Although Carter and Wood distanced themselves from the rest of the competitors the rest of the field behind them fought hard until the last lap to secure a spot near the front of the field. Troy Turley came away third with veteran Jay Lyle fourth, Bryce McMillin fifth, and Larry Ferris sixth.

The evening concluded with a barn-burner finish during the USRA Modified Main Event. By virtue of the heat wins and total passing points earned, John Allen and Jim Moody started on the front row as the field set off for the 25-lap feature event.

Early on Allen received some pressure from a strong-running Steven Bowers Jr. and Moody with Hilsabeck and Dotson inside the top five. Several competitors received flat tires at various stages of the race including Wille, Schultz, and Danny Crane, but all drivers were able to return to the race in time for the finish after fixing the flats in the new infield hot lane.

Aaron Marrant was an early retiree from the race as was Rick Beebe. By lap 12, Allen led the race over a hard-charging Dotson in second with Bowers third, Moody fourth and Hilsabeck fifth. A classic battle then ensued as Hilsabeck and Moody swapped positions through the mid-point of the race.

Gunner Martin, who ran strong early, exited the race on lap 21 as the top five positions stayed the same. Very late in the race on a couple of different restarts, it looked as though Dotson was going to take the win; however, Allen was just ultimately a quick better, especially on entry and exit of turn two and went on to claim the win.

Following Allen to the line were Dotson in second, Steven Bowers Jr. third, Moody fourth, Hilsabeck fifth and Basehor, Kansas driver Tim Karrick in sixth

Previous articleEdwards, Waltz Split Twin 75s
Next articleZiehl Conquers Southwest Region is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.