Blackburn Leads Central Missouri Winners

Kevin Blackburn (26k) captured his second-consecutive Central Missouri Speedway Modified win on Saturday, beating Dean Wille for the victory.

WARRENSBURG, Mo. – Kevin Blackburn rolled to victory in the 25-lap modified main event on Saturday night at Central Missouri Speedway.

Nathan Vaughn and Dean Wille led the field to the initial green and from the onset it was a caution-riddled affair with two attempts at starting the race unfolded. Once the field settled in, the drivers finally settled into a race groove with Vaughn and Wille in a classic battle at the front.

The early cautions saw point’s leaders Chad Lyle and Terry Schultz fall to the back of the field as they worked to move back forward. A lap-13 caution then fell over the field as drivers worked to move forward in the ranks.

Meanwhile, ninth-starting Kevin Blackburn advanced to the front as with Wille and Vaughn continuing their strong efforts near the front. Blackburn eventually moved forward to claim the point but Wille and Vaughn held strong inside the top three never letting Blackburn to check out on the field.

At the end of the night, caution flew one more time on lap 21 to slow the field with Blackburn eventually going on to collect his second-consecutive victory with Wille settling in for second. Vaughn was strong in third with Lyle rebounding for a fourth-place run while Randal Schiffelbein Jr., recorded his best CMS finish in fifth.

Other feature winners on Saturday included J.R. Billing (pure stock), Brad Smith (b-mod), Dillon Raffurty (mod lite) and Brett Wood (street stock).