Bilderbacks Pace NSTC 200 Qualifying


LOVES PARK, Ill. – It was a pair of Bilderbacks at the top of the leaderboard after qualifying ended today for Sunday’s National Short Track Championships Super Late Model 200 at the Rockford Speedway.

The super late models also had their preliminary races for tomorrow’s showcase event.

Michael Bilderback set a fast time of 12.849 seconds while Ricky Bilderback was second fastest with a time of 12.944 seconds.

Two-time NSTC Champion Jeremy Lepak was third quick with a time of 13.010 seconds with Casey Johnson fourth with a time of 13.014 seconds. 1990 NSTC Champion Rich Bickle rounded out the top five with a time of 13.027 seconds.

The top-16 competed in odd/even heats. Mike Strupp held off Steve Rubeck to win the odd heat. Adam Royle won the even heat.

Mark Sontag, Jr. and Erik Pierce finished first and second in the first qualifying race while Landry Potter and Stevie Campbell were the top two in the second. All four advance to the 200-lap feature on Sunday afternoon.

Brian Johnson, Jr. and Steve Rubeck will lead the field to the green flag tomorrow afternoon for the 200-lap feature event. Three-time NSTC Champion Eddie Hoffman will start third with Larry Schuler in fourth. Steve Apel and Bickle will make up the third row.

Sunday’s action will get underway at with Mid-American Series practice at 10 a.m. followed by the Super Late Model Shakedown at 10:45 a.m.

Nason’s Landscaping “Faster Than a Speeding Bullet” Qualifying for the Mid-American Series will start at 11:15am. Racing will get underway at 12:30 p.m. with the Super Late Models 200, Mid-American 75, and the Gerber Collision Challenge on the schedule.