Beiler Wins Street Stocks In Macon


MACON, Ill. – Bobby Beiler didn’t lead much of the Street Stocks feature race, but he led when it counted the most.

After Steve Ewing led the entire race, Beiler roared around the final turn to pass Ewing andf win by a bumper during Kid’s Castle Night at Macon Speedway Saturday. Ewing, of Decatur, had led from the drop of the green flag, but Beiler, of Blue Mound, led when it counted the most.

In the Big Ten Series late model feature, Ryan Little, of Pleasant Plains, won the from the pole position despite attempts from a talented field to work past him. Eventually, Brian Diveley, of Springfield, finished second with Greg Kimmons, of Pleasant Plains, came across in third.

Another close finish thrilled the crowd in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds as Tommy Sheppard, Jr., of New Berlin, got the win as Ethan Schnapp, of Springfield, couldn’t hold the lead late and a flat tire doomed the night for Decatur’s Dave Crawley, Jr. late in the race as he was leading.

In Sportsman, Jeremy Nichols cruised to the win. The main battle was for second place as Scott Landers got the fourth turn last-lap pass to nip Tim Bedinger in a battle between two Taylorville drivers. The Outlaw Hornet feature was claimed by Decatur’s Jeremy Reed, and Brady Reed, of Decatur, won in the Stock Hornet class.

The crowd was fired up for the B.G. Nevitt Memorial Faster Pastor Race, renamed after the defending race champion from GT Church who passed away last summer. Pastor Rick Spangler defended the honor of his congregation and Nevitt by flying through the field from the fifth place starting position to win in convincing fashion, ahead of Rod Hite, of Destiny Fellowship. Richard Chappell, of Body of Christ Ministries, was third, with Mark Amenda, Mazon United Methodist Church,in fourth. J.J. Hairston, of Galilee Baptist, rolled to fifth, and Maranatha’s Doug Lowery finished sixth.

The finish:

Bobby Beiler, Steve Ewing, Gene Reed, Nick Justice, Terry Reed, Kyle Waters, Larry Russell, Jr., Zach Perryman, Greg Osman, Brian Dasenbrock, Luke Force, Roy Magee, Ronnie Burns, Dustin Reed, Tony Reed, Jeffrey Reed, Jr.

Previous articleHavel Takes Thunderhill Feature
Next articleHiggins & Drew Claim Rally America Crown is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.