Anderson Claims Race Of Champions Qualifier


JIM FALLS, Wis. – Mike Anderson bested the competition to win Sunday’s Eagle Valley Speedway WISSOTA AMSOIL Race of Champions qualifier in the modified division.

The Modified feature began with the top eight cars redrawing and putting Anderson on the pole, flanked by Scott Duval. The two drivers fought hard for one lap before Anderson was able to pull into the lead. One out front Anderson drove off into the night, winning the 20 lap feature which went caution free.

Duval owned the second position for the entire event as Kevin Adams and Jake Hartung had a spirited battle for third. Hartung eventually beat Adams for the spot and Jay Richardson rounded out the top five.

The Super Stock feature had the top eight redraw for position and were lead to green by Shane Kisling and Wayne Harris. Kisling took the early lead but a lap two caution for a spinning Matt McEathron reset the field. On the restart, Harris used the high line to take over the lead as Curt Myers began to work under Kisling for second.

A spinning Trent Barnhardt drew the caution and reset the field again. Upon the restart, Myers began to challenge Harris for the lead, pulling even in the corners as Harris regained the spot on the straight stretches. Suddenly, on lap 13 of 20, Harris abruptly slowed and he was able to exit the track without a caution. With Myers at the point, he cruised to yet another win at Eagle Valley. Kisling drove home in second, followed by Tommy Richards, Tony Falkner, and James Cimfl in the top five.

The Midwest Modified feature had the top eight redrawing for position with Cole Spacek and Grant Southworth setting the pace. A tight race at the front between Corey Crapser and Spacek provided contact in turn one on the second lap sending Crapser hard into the wall and then the car rolled over drawing the red flag. With Crapser eliminated and Spacek leaving the track, Southworth found himself in the lead. He made a strong run on the high side dominating the race. Shane Halopka was able to secure second and did cut into the lead late into the event but fell short. Brad Seavers had a strong run in third, followed by Nick Koehler and Kent Baxter.

The Street Stock finale redrew eight with Travis Hazelton and Mike Knudtson sharing the front row. Knudtson took the early lead but was hounded by Adam Soltis on the low side of the track. The two seemingly swapped the lead lap after lap when a caution reset the field. On the restart, Soltis lead the field to green and Cody Kummer began to show his presence. Kummer earned second as Jim Randle passed for third. Soon Randle overtook Kummer and set his sights on the lead. With two laps remaining Randle drove under Soltis for the lead and went on to win. Knudtson regained third, followed by Kummer and Danny Richards in fifth.