Adams Doubles His Rice Lake Fun


RICE LAKE, Wis. – Before possibly the largest crowd in the three years that Adams-Hansen Inc. has owned the Rice Lake Speedway, Kevin Adams won the modified feature and then doubled up on his pleasure by also winning the makeup feature in the modifieds left over from last Saturday night’s rain shortened program.

The makeup feature was the first event of the night and Adams would come from the fifth starting spot to take the win in a nonstop race. Steve Hallquist led much of the first half of the race after having an early battle with Dave Baxter for the top spot. Adams moved to third and then fought several laps before he was able to get by Baxter also.

He closed on Hallquist and they raced hard side by side for a couple of laps before Adams was eventually able to edge into the lead. With the race staying under the green flag, Adams widened his gap over the field as Mike Anderson moved up from eighth to challenge Hallquist for second.

As Adams drove home for the win, Hallquist held off Anderson for second in earning his best finish of the year to date. Scott Miller also had a strong run as he finished fourth ahead of point leader Mark Hessler.

A full field of 24 cars took the green for the second modified main with Anderson starting on the pole and taking the early lead as he edged away from Hallquist. Cory Mahder started in the second row but he was on the move as he passed Justin Ritchie and then Hallquist to take over second.

Adams started seventh on the grid and also moved forward quickly, getting by Paul Brust and Pat Hoffman on the low side and moving in to challenge Zach Drews for position.

Adams was able to race past Drews for third and he then set off after the leading duo of Anderson and Mahder.

The yellow flag waved one lap short of the halfway point and this bunched the field. Adams moved to the high side of the track on the green and found immediate success on a part of the track that no one seemed to be running. He drove past Mahder for second and then closed on Anderson. With a strong run off turn four, Adams drove past Anderson to take over the lead.

As Adams started to pull away, Mahder also moved to the top and he was able to drive past Anderson for second. The rest of the race saw the top three run in that order, with no changes. Drews, making his first start of the year, finished a strong fourth while Curt Myers came from fifteenth to complete the top five. The wins were Adams’ second and third of the year at the track in 2014.

Other winners at the Firecracker special were Willie Johnsen Jr. (super stocks), Nick Koehler (Midwest Modifieds), Scott Clark (street stocks) and C.J. Wagner (pure stocks).

Previous articleThursday Thunder Streaks Get Snapped
Next articleJohnson Does The Las Vegas Double is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.