Yoder Scores First Victory At Hagerstown


HAGERSTOWN, Md. – Dylan Yoder made the tow from Selinsgrove to Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol LLC worth it Saturday evening when the second generation late-model driver recorded his career first win at the Maryland oval.

Yoder started fourth in the field and took the lead from Jason Miller on lap seven of the 25-lap Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model feature to later get the triumph by 1.111 seconds over Roy Deese Jr.

“I just tried to keep the car straight, keep tires under me and hope that they’d slip up a little bit and luckily enough I’d get by deep enough to get to the bottom of the 94 (Jason Miller),” Yoder said. “It was a lot of fun; the car worked great.”

It was Small Car Nationals Qualifier night and Chad Myers recorded his second Hagerstown win and is guaranteed a starting spot in September’s late model sportsman Nationals event. Mike Corbin also has a starting spot as he posted his third win of the season in the K.Lynn Management Pure Stock feature. Gary Proctor, last year’s Nationals winner in the Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, drove to his first win of the season and locked in a starting spot as did Kevin Thomas in the Cochran Auctioneers Four Cylinders.

In the four car inversion for late models, Jason Miller quickly rolled around the top side to grab the lead over pole sitter Roy Deese Jr. with fourth starting Yoder settling into third.

Yoder went to work on Deese following a third lap caution and moved into the runner up spot two laps later. The next circuit, he stuck his nose under Miller and was out front and pulling away on lap seven.

Yoder was nearly a straightaway ahead of Miller and Deese when a lap 12 yellow closed the field. Back under green, Deese kept pace but Yoder continued to have a several car lead over the final half of the feature while Andy Anderson moved past Miller and Gary Stuhler on the 17th lap and set sights on Deese.

Yoder came to the stripe with Deese and Anderson next in line followed by Miller. Trevor Feathers was sixth over Bo Feathers, both from the sixth row, while Steve Axtell Jr., Marvin Winters and 16th starting Lindsay Barton completed the top 10. Heats went to Yoder, Matt Cosner, and Miller.

In the 22-lap late model sportsman feature, Myers started outside front row in the six car inversion and charged around Paul Cursey on the start with Cursey and Scott Palmer next.

Myers was to the rear of the field by the tenth lap while Palmer took second and began to chase Myers who was already starting to wade through traffic and having to make some tactical moves. Myers drove between two cars off turn two while Palmer had closed to four lengths but the caution came out before the 17th lap was completed.

The caution waved again on the white flag lap as Myers had one final chance to save the win and he did it with ease, taking the win by .533 seconds.

“The single file restart (on the last lap) was a big relief.” Myers said. “I didn’t have to worry about him (Palmer) right on the inside of me. We just nailed the throttle. This is so awesome. This is the first night out for the car. We just got the motor back and we’re ready to rock and roll.” ‘

Palmer settled for the runner up spot with Rick Singleton making a restart effort to move into third over Frankie Plessinger while Rodney Walls completed the top five. Justin Weaver, Andy Fries, Terry Flaherty, Dominic Defino and Kyle Lee were the next five. Flaherty, Plessinger, Walls, and Palmer were heat winners while Robbie Black won the consolation.

Previous week’s winner David Kaiser took the Pure Stock lead but Corbin charged past following a second lap restart while Mike Franklin moved to the front from 14th and took second from Keith Koontz. Corbin and Franklin pulled away and were separated by one length at the checkered with Mike Desch and Keith Koontz next.

Proctor took the hobby stock lead from the onset over Dustin Proctor while David Kaiser passed Kenny Thomas for third. Proctor continued to lead the caution free event and took the win by 15 lengths.

Thomas pulled from the outside pole to lead the four-cylinders with Jeremy Ott giving chase until Ryan Laye came from the rear to take the runner up spot with five to go. With no yellow, Thomas continued on the final five laps to secure the win by more than ten lengths over two time winner Laye.

Previous articleSmith Stars At Atomic Speedway
Next articleNoble Masters Madera Midget Run
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.