Wyckoff Claims Sportsman Grove Feature


MECHANICSBURG, Pa. – New Jersey driver Tom Wyckoff won Williams Grove Speedway’s 20 lap Blazer’s Body Shop Super Sportsman feature on Saturday.

The veteran driver used his front row starting position to capture his first victory at the famed half-mile oval.

Wyckoff started on the outside of the front row and was the immediate leader. Kenny Edkins, Tony Jackson, Chad Criswell, and Scott Dellinger were in pursuit of the leader.

By lap eight Kenny Edkins began to narrow the gap between first and second. Behind Edkins there was an intense battle for third featuring Tony Jackson, Chad Criswell and Scott Dellinger.

Wyckoff crossed the finish line eight lengths ahead of Kenny Edkins, Tony Jackson, Scott Dellinger, and Chad Criswell.

Roy Miller led the start of the 20 lap Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Model feature. Dan Zechman, the fourth-place starter, was in second.

Dan Zechman, a third-generation driver, passed Roy Miller on the back stretch in the fourth circuit. Zechman held a ten-length edge over Miller, Ron Kline, Sam Gallagher, and Alan Sagi.

Zechman’s lead disappeared with a lap 10 caution. Zechman again held a comfortable lead. The fight was for second between Miller, Kline, Gallagher, and Alan Sagi. Gene Knaub, the last-place starter, joined the battle for the runner-up spot.

Dan Zechman’s lead grew while Gene Knaub knifed his way through the top five. Zechman, from Littlestown, won his first Williams Grove Speedway feature by an eighth-mile. Gene Knaub passed Roy Miller in the final turn to finish in second. Ron Kline was fourth and Sam Gallagher finished in fifth.

Tim Drawbaugh started on the pole in the 15 lap Aquafun Pools Street Stock feature. A large pile up in the second turn brought the race to a halt.

Drawbaugh led the way over Chris Heller, Steven Dove, Todd Bowersox, and Walt Lemmon. By lap three Heller, Dove, Bowersox, Lemmon, and Greg Diehl settled into an intense competition for second – a battle that continued to the finish line.

Tim Drawbaugh held a six-car length edge. The trailing pack ran side-by-side, providing the top racing of the season. Positions second through six changed with each lap.

Tim Drawbaugh’s lead began to shrink. The six-car pack crept to within two lengths of Drawbaugh. With four laps remaining the race for second intensified when Chris Heller, Todd Bowersox and Steven Dove were three wide at the exit of turn two.

The finish:

Tom Wyckoff, Kenny Edkins, Tony Jackson, Scott Dellinger, Chad Criswell, Chad Trout, Frankie Herr, Rich Eichelberger, Russ Mitten,  Steve Fannasy, Bobby Hockenberry, Mike Enders, Doug Dobson, teve Wilbur, Jay Fannasy, Duaine Smith, Rick Barr, Bill Devine, Todd Leonard, Scott Geesey, Greg Foster, Dave Berkheimer, Joe Orsulakl, David Walsh