Winters Cashes In On $3,000 Prize


HAGERSTOWN, Md. – If it wasn’t hot enough outside, Marvin Winters was really working up a sweat on Christmas in July night at Hagerstown Speedway as he battled Roy Deese Jr. for the $3,000 Late Model win.

Going inside to pass a lapped car on the front stretch, Deese’s attempt around the outside ended with a hard crash into the first turn fence. Winters continued the final 11 laps to post the win over Jason Covert by 1.38 seconds.

“That lapped traffic was a little touchy and it looks like it got Roy, that’s a shame,” Winters said. “But we had a good race going on. I think he was getting a little bit loose or mine was starting to come on. It was going to be a good race. I didn’t see him. I went below the lapped car and the next time I came around and the red was out. I didn’t see it happen.”

In other racing and after 16 years, third generation driver Mike Walls fought back emotions following his career first win in the Late Model Sportsman feature. It was another day in the office for Mike Corbin who posted his ninth win in the Pure Stock event while Matt Williamson finally wrapped up his first win in the Four Cylinder feature. Defending Classic Racing Series champion Matt Wallace scored his Hagerstown second of the season with the Bill Bollinger Memorial event.

With a heads up start, Brian Bernheisel led the opening lap with Deese charging past off the fourth turn to lead the second circuit. Winters, C. S. Fitzgerald, Kyle Hardy and Jason Covert each passed Bernheisel in the next several laps with Winters closing in for the battle with Deese while Fitzgerald was feeling the pressure from Hardy and Covert was another several lengths back.

Clearing Scott Richwine on the 12th lap, Wayne Johnson was next in line as Winters led the 16th lap with Deese battling back. The two were putting on a show while On the 19th lap, Winters went to the inside of Johnson entering the first turn while Deese went to the outside and contact was made sending him hard into the fence which brought out the red flag.
On the restart, Covert bolted into the runner up spot while Hardy got past Fitzgerald on the 21st lap. Winters continued to hold a several length lead and went on to take the triumph by 1.320 seconds over Covert and Hardy. Fitzgerald and Jamie Lathroum were next. B. Bernheisel, Deese and Fitzgerald were the heat winners.

“I have to thank Tex Shaffer,” Winters said. “He’s a great car owner. He lets me do whatever we need to the car; no questions asked. That’s the kind of owner you need.”

The finish:

Marvin Winters; Jason Covert; Kyle Hardy; C.S. Fitzgerald; James Lathroum; Steve Axtell Jr.; Frankie Plessinger; Jim Bernheisel; Ronnie DeHaven Jr.; Bryan Bernheisel; Wayne Johnson; Richwine; Trever Feathers; Roy Deese Jr.; Jason Miller; Tyler Castle; Brian Tavenner

Previous articleDavis Tops Montana Mods
Next articleAllen Stars At Shadyhill is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.