Waltz Doubles Up At Langley


HAMPTON, Va. — In his final tune-up before the July 26 Hampton Heat 200, Matt Waltz notched his seventh and eighth wins by sweeping the Thomas Roofing Twin 75s for the ComServe/Verizon Wireless Late Model Stock Cars, the featured events of Saturday evening’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program at Langley Speedway.

Waltz was the pole-sitter for the opener, at 89.266 mph, but gave way to Greg Edwards on the start. Edwards led the first 58 circuits. On lap 59, Waltz took the lead with an outside pass, then survived a late restart on the way to the win.

At the finish, Waltz won by four lengths over Edwards. Langley newcomer Garrett Campbell was third, followed by Matt Bowling and Brenden Queen.

By virtue of his win in the first race, Waltz earned the pole position for the nightcap. Buoyed by his success on the high side, he chose the outside lane for the start.

As the second race got under way, Waltz powered ahead of Edwards off Turn 2 to take the lead. Edwards kept it close for the first half of the event, occasionally poking a fender to the inside of the leader.
Waltz remained committed to the high lane, though, and gradually began to ease away, while Edwards slipped into a second-place tussle with Campbell.

By the end of the caution-free run, Waltz had extended his winning margin to almost a full straightaway over Edwards. Campbell posted his second third-place outing of the night, followed by Bowling and Tyler Ankrum.

Sammy Gaita led all 40 laps and posted his second and third victories with a sweep of Twin 20s for the Butterfoss & Barton Orthodontics Super Streets.

Renno Marchetti IV was the runner-up in the opening event, followed by John Pereira, Landon Abbott and Sean Calway.

In the second race, Pereira tailed Gaita to the line, while Marchetti, Bill Eaker and Chris Hott completed the top five.

Fast qualifier Michael Waters overcame an inversion of the top four on the starting grid and sailed to his third straight win in the 25-lap KeesVacations.com Super Truck race.

Tommy Nixon led laps one through four before giving way to Waters on a restart at lap five. At the end, Waters was the winner, while Nixon moved up to second when Trevor Battoia and Colby Vance tangled and spun in front of him on the last lap.

Richard Ellis, Jacob Carr and Bill Wallace rounded out the top five.

Dave Wedding drew the pole and wired the field for his fourth win in the 30-lap Bojangles’ Enduro race.

Richard Quinn was second, better than half a straightaway behind. Derrick Boggess was third, followed by Scotty Buchanan and Dustin Cisco.

Previous articleVandermeersch Has Big Night At Macon
Next articleINDY: Iowa Corn Indy 300
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.