Walton Grabs Trail-Way Micro Triumph


HANOVER, Pa. – “It’s been a really good start to our season,” exclaimed Tyler Walton after claiming his first win of the year in the 20-lap 600cc Micro Sprint feature at Trail-Way Speedway Saturday.

“Two weeks in a row, what a car. Last week we came from 11th to second,” explained Walton, but he was unfortunately collected in a lap 19 caution. This week was better as Walton started on the pole and led every lap.

Walton was able to pull away from the rest of the field early on, but following a lap 14 caution Walton faced challenges from Todd Hoover. On the restart, Hoover jumped over Walton’s rear tire but was able to save it and hold onto second.

From there Walton faced a final lap challenge as Hoover tried to make a pass on the outside in turns one and two, but Walton held Hoover off.

Rounding out the top five were Bo Gordon, Dwayne Gutshall, and Heath Hehnly.

Heat winners for the 22 600cc Micro Sprints were Shawn Seifert, Hehnly, and Alex Bright.

Broc Lawrence started on the pole and led every lap to claim his first win of the year in the 20-lap 270cc Micro Sprint feature event.

“Can you believe it?” asked Lawrence in victory lane. “I’m speechless.”

Brian Marriott lined up second behind Lawrence for a restart after at lap 12 caution for second place running Bill Laughman. Lawrence was able to get a good start on three restarts over the final eight laps, but Marriott got faster the more laps they ran.

Luckily for Lawrence, Matt Campbell came to a stop on lap 19, creating the final restart with one lap to go. Lawrence pulled away and crossed two car lengths ahead of Marriott. Steven Cox, Cory Myers, and Michael Boer completed the top five.

Heat winners for the 17 270cc Micro Sprints were Laughman and Boer.

In an action packed 15-lap Limited Stock feature, Brian Walls battled with Matt Chronister, Terry Hartlaub and Brad Kress before he was able to take the win.

Walls started on the pole and led the first lap but Chronister led the second lap before falling back into the pack. Walls then faced challenges from Hartlaub before Hartlaub slid high in turn three giving Kress room to take the second spot.

The next lap, lap nine, Kress took the lead in a three-wide battle. However, with one lap to go, Kress had a tire go down giving the top spot back to Walls. Hartlaub finished second.

Heats for the 23 Limited Stocks were won by Hartlaub, Jason Chronister, and Kress.

Kyle Brown took the lead in the first 12-lap A.C.M.S. 600 Micro Sprint feature after trying to pass polesitter and race long leader Lance Yeager for several laps. From there, Brown pulled away to claim his third win of the season at Trail-Way by 4.34 seconds over Alyssa Rowe who claimed second with Brandon Noel third.

In the second A.C.M.S. feature, Alyssa Rowe led every lap but the last as she experienced motor problems during the final lap. This gave the win to Lance Yeager who, in victory lane said, “This should be Alyssa here, not me.”