Wagner Masters Susquehanna Sprint


NEWBERRYTOWN, Pa. – In the eighth Annual Eichelberger’s U-Pull-It Super Show, Logan Wagner won a spectacular PA Sprint Series 20 lap feature event on Wednesday, July at the Susquehanna Speedway Park.

Jared Umbenhauer wired to field to win the Sportsman Modifieds 20-lapper. Tyler Walton won the 600cc Micro Sprint feature as Scott Gobrecht collected the Legends Cars main event. Don Harvey won the first Sidewinder Sprint Car feature with Reed Salony claiming the second feature. Matt Wallace won the Classic Cars night capper.

In the 20-lap PA Sprint Series feature event, Scott Ellerman took the top spot from his 3rd place starting spot and began to set the pace with Billy Ney in tow. Meanwhile, Logan Wagner began to move his way through the pack from his 9th place starting spot. By lap five, he found himself in the runner-up spot and doing everything he could to get by the leader with his brother Mike Wagner II close behind in third.

Finally on a lap 18 restart. Logan Wagner took the top spot on a slider going into turn one. Ellerman did not give up but came up short at the end. Wagner took the win over Ellerman and Kody Lehman who made a late race charge for the win. Mike Wagner II and Mark Watkins finished in the fourth and fifth place postions. Logan Wagner, John Braim and Jason Bergstresser were the heat race winners. Eric Parker won the consolation race.

Brad Brightbill and Jared Umbenhauer led the field of Sportsman Modifieds to the green for the 20-lapper with Umbenhauer taking the early lead over Brightbill. Brightbill dropped out on lap three, moving Brett Kressley into the runner-up spot.

Umbenhauer ran flawlessly, never really giving Kressley a chance to take the lead. Umbenhauer took the checkers four car lengths ahead of Kressley at the line. Paul Kline came from an 8th place starting spot to finish third. Ryan Anderson finished fourth with Craig Whitmoyer rounding out the top five. Whitmoyer and Kline were heat race victors.

The 20-lap Legends Cars feature event began with Scott Houdeshell taking the early lead from the pole position. Scott Gobrecht started the race in eighth and by lap 7 he was challenging for the lead in a three-car battle with Houdeshell and Bob Stough. Gobrecht took over the top spot on lap 14. Houdeshell did not give up but could not make the pass back and settled for second at the end behind Gobrecht.

Previous articleWOO: Huset’s Speedway
Next articleGiarratana Tops Wacky Wednesday Winners
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.