Wagaman Ends Trail-Way Drought


HANOVER, Pa. — Tim Wagaman ended a two-year Trail-Way win drought in claiming his first win of the year in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature Friday night.

“It’s been about two years now, and this win is long overdue,” said Wagaman after the popular win, “I kinda’ got into Shane (Hoff) earlier in the race, and I hope that didn’t cause his (last turn) spin.”

The Blue Ribbon Exteriors/Hanover Toyota/Delco Signs #1 started fourth and moved past outside front row starter Joe Trone, Jr. to move into second on lap three. For the next 14 laps, Wagaman chased polesitter and race-long leader Hoff before making the race-winning pass with an outside move in turns three and four of lap 17.

“I knew I’d need to do this on the outside,” continued Wagaman, “He had it and I wanted it, so I had to go to the top. I know some of the fans here tonight are from Williams Grove (which was forced to cancel due to rain earlier in the evening), and I hope we put on a good show for you.”

Hoff ran second until spinning and coming to a stop in the final turn.

Austin Hogue came from eighth-starting spot to finish second, with ninth-starting Brad McClelland third, 12th-starting and hard charger Isaac Sneeringer fourth, and Mike Bittinger fifth.

Rounding out the top ten were Keith Prutzman, Kyle Moody, 14th-starting Zach Euculano, Ryan Wilson, and Rocky Magaro.

Michael Goodwin scored his second win of the year in the 20-lap Extreme Stock feature.

Goodwin started eighth and took the lead from polesitter and race-long leader Timothy Hahn on lap eight.

Hahn settled for second. Adam Smith’s third-place finish was good enough to claim the four-race Madison House East “Shootout,” two races of which were run at Trail-Way Speedway and Susquehanna Speedway Park. Madison House East is one of Smith’s sponsors.

Bob Stough came from fifth starting spot to claim the win in the 20-Central PA Legends feature. Stough took the lead from polesitter and race-long leader Scott Gobrecht on lap seven and led the rest of the way, with Harlon Leppo coming from sixth starting spot to finish second, Richard Miller advancing from ninth to finish third, Gobrecht, and Chris Transeau (running his first Legends feature) fifth.

Heats for the 18 Central PA Legends were won by Bill Diehl and Lucas Montgomery, neither of which were able to finish the feature.

Kyle Rohrbaugh won his third straight and sixth of the year in a thrilling 15-lap Limited Stock feature which saw the leaders racing three-wide down the back stretch of the final lap.

Rohrbaugh, who crossed second under the white flag, drove around Robbie Carroll on the outside and Chad Weaver drove under Carroll on the last lap to finish first and second. Carroll finished third, followed by 15th-starting Rod Weaver and Nick McDaniel.


Previous articlePhelps Flies At Brewerton
Next articlePedrosa Sets Mugello Track Record
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.