VonDohren Stars At Grandview


BECHTELSVILLE, Pa. — Mother Nature finally cooperated after two consecutive weeks of rain and racing finally returned to the third-mile high banks of Grandview Speedway on Saturday night.

Seven-time and defending Modified champion Craig VonDohren took his first win of the season in the 30-lap NASCAR 358 Modified feature race while Brett Kressley won his second 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature race of the season. Sam Schlosberg earned his first 25-lap late model feature victory.

Doug Manmiller appeared to have left off where his streak was snapped before the weather intervened and was two laps short of winning his fourth NASCAR Whelen All-American Series 30-lap modified feature.

Fate wouldn’t have it that way since Manmiller, left with nowhere to go, got collected by the spinning car of Kyle Follweiler when he exited the third turn bringing out the caution.

Defending point champion Craig VonDohren, who started 22nd after winning the consi, was second and now inherited the lead. He kept his self-owned, Beartown Recycling/K.L. Harring Transportation No. 1C in front until he pulled into victory lane for his first win of the season to become the fourth different winner in 2014.

“I was almost ready to give up after an early heat incident made me mad and forced me to miss the invert, commented VonDohren, but I just kept digging as my car was loose, but then got tight when I changed my line. It was a shame for Doug, but that’s part of the game.” His efforts netted him $2500, plus $250 from T.P. Trailers, Limerick and $150 from VP Fuels for running VP gas.

Ron Seltmann Jr. set the pace at the wave of the green.

The red was thrown on the third lap when Bobby Gunther-Walsh spun in turn four. Cars scrambled and Andy Ressler rolled. Also involved were Duane Howard, Jeff Strunk and Ray Swinehart. All drivers were uninjured and able to continue except Gunther-Walsh and Ressler. On the restart Seltmann Jr.was still in command trailed by Jon Kellner, Manmiller, who started 15th; Kevin Hirthler and Kyle Weiss.

Kellner became the new leader on the second fifth lap restart. First Mike Laise, Tommy Scheetz III and Mike Gular, the point leader going into the event, tangled in the third turn with Gular and Scheetz III eliminated. The next try saw a fourth turn accident that involved Mike Kellner, Don Norris Jr. and Eric Biehn.

Manmiller, seeking his fourth win of the season,cleared Seltmann Jr. on the tenth lap and set sail after Kellner. Manmiller closed in on Kellner by the 20th lap and the pair engaged in a fierce side-by-side battle that made for some great RCN-TV action.

A new leader emerged on the 21st lap when Manmiller cleared Kellner to show the way.

Behind Manmiller and Kellner, VonDohren and Hirthler had their own race for third with Weiss in the mix.

With two laps to go, Follweiler was already spinning when Manmiller came charging out of the third turn. Left with nowhere to go since he had a full head of steam built up, Manmiller collided with Follweiler and spun and both were eliminated for the final yellow.

Manmiller’s misfortune was a break for VonDohren running second and now the new leader.

VonDohren kept the Nick Gatto powered/PPB/Bicknell mount ahead the rest of the way to pull into the winner’s circle for his 88th career win. Posting second for his best finish of the season was Kellner followed by Howard, coming back after the third lap accident; Hirthler and Jordan Umbenhauer.