Von Dohren Beats The Rain At Grandview

Craig Von Dohren in victory lane Saturday at Grandview Speedway. (Rich Kepner Photo)
Craig Von Dohren in victory lane Saturday at Grandview Speedway. (Rich Kepner Photo)

BECHTELSVILLE, Pa. – Despite rain being all around the area of the third-mile Grandview Speedway clay oval, action was never interrupted as the first championship point events were run on Saturday.

Von Dohren, who started deep in the pack in last Saturday’s opening night activities, had a better starting spot for the first point race of the season and it worked to his advantage in the 30-lap T.P. Trailers NASCAR Advanced Auto Parts Modified feature on Saturday night.

As the green flag waved in the modified feature, Von Dohren was on a mission trailed by Jared Umbenhauer, Ryan Higgs, Briggs Danner and Brett Kressley. Kressley was in second at the end of eight laps and in pursuit of Von Dohren. Mark Kratz stopped along the homestretch for the first caution on the ninth lap.

On the restart with Von Dohren and Kressley door handle to door handle, contact was made as Von Dohren didn’t realize Kressley was so close to him heading out of the fourth turn heading into turn one.

Kressley lost valuable positions as Von Dohren was still the leader. Battling for second through fifth were Umbenhauer, Doug Manmiller, Duane Howard and Jeff Strunk. Manmiller took over second on the 14th lap and took chase after Von Dohren, who was approaching lapped traffic by the 18th circuit.

The final caution was on the 21st lap when Mike Lisowski’s car erupted with steam bellowing out of it in the four turn. Von Dohren held his spot with Manmiller in a challenging position trailed by defending point champion Howard, Strunk and Umbenhauer. With six laps to go Howard overtook second and set his sights on Von Dohren.

No one was able to catch and pass Von Dohren as he pulled into the winner’s circle for his first triumph of the season. Finishing second was Howard followed by Manmiller, Strunk and Umbenhauer. Rounding out the top ten were Ryan Grim, Kressley, John Willman, Kyle Weiss and Louden Reimert.

The 25-lap T.P. Truck Equipment NASCAR Sportsman feature was a nip and tuck battle between winner Jack Butler and runner-up Brandon Edgar. Both drivers dueled side-by-side for several laps with neither one giving up as Butler went on to take the checkered.

Scott Schaeffer won the 15-lap Outlaw Vintage Racing Series feature after he inherited the top spot when leader Jon Lines relinquished the position dropping out with mechanical problems.