Tyler Truex Scores At Wall Stadium


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. – Tyler Truex turned a disappointing season into a rewarding one Saturday night by winning the 40-lap main event for the All American Auto Group Modified stocks cars at Wall Stadium Speedway.

The victory was the first of the campaign for the Mayetta resident.

Eddie McCarthy was impressive early in this race as he led Derek Hopkinson of Toms River through the first 10 laps. The duo then touched at this point with McCarthy spinning from the lead. Hopkinson was then the leader of the test but Truex had now completed his run from sixth to second and applied the pressure. On the 16th lap Truex powered to the outside lane to take the lead.

The final half of the event saw Truex fight off the advances of Holmdel’s Andrew Krause and Hopkinson who eventually finished second and third. The returning Ron Frees of Lanoka Harbor and Howell’s Kevin Davison were fourth and fifth.

“This win is for my father,” Truex said in the winner’s circle. “He is fighting health issues and I am so glad he is here tonight. He is the reason that I am a Modified driver today. Andrew Krause may have had the better car late in the race but he drove me clean all the way.”

The Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder Stocks battled in twin 25-lap main events with Jeffrey Loesch winning the first after taking the lead on lap eight. Brian Osborn, Ryan Maher, Neil Rutt III and Alonzo Morales completed the top five. Championship point leader Rutt returned to win the nightcap over a top five of Morales, Maher, Loesch and Ian Ashford of Farmingdale.

Michael Rising fought off the advances of Eric Lane for most of the first half of the 25-lapper for the Center State Engineering Sportsman cars before the duo touched and Rising went spinning from the lead. Lane then took command and raced on to the win over Tommy Martino. Rutt, Jarret DiGiantomasso and the recovering Rising wrapped up the top five.

Sean Verwys got his first win in the 25-lapper for the Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars fighting off Mason Magee most of the way. Invader Ron Milroy, Peter Bruno and Joe McGrath were third through fifth.