Troutman Continues Allegany Dominance


CUMBERLAND, Md. – D.J. Troutman closed out the regular season with another win to clinch the track championship on Sunday night at Allegany County Speedway. The win was Troutman’s fifth of the season.

Jimmy Iser and Mike Lauffer also won for the fifth time apiece in the Ernie D’s Street Stocks and Sponaugle Towing 4-Cylinders. David Riley was the TC Race Cars Hobby Stock winner for the second time this season.

Riley was one of the drivers to watch for the Hobby Stock championship with Jimmy Moreland and Justin Michael. Moreland entered the race with the lead in the standings and his third-place finish was enough to hold off Riley by one point.

Iser wrapped up the Street Stock championship and Nick Iski claimed the 4-Cylinder championship.

In the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature, Troutman picked his way to second in the first four laps after starting fifth. Travis Calhoun had the lead from the outset until Troutman caught up by lap six. On the next lap, Troutman grabbed the lead from Calhoun in turn three.

Troutman was only momentarily interrupted for a caution on lap 13. He went to win claim the win by more than three seconds. Calhoun and Tim Smith Jr. finished second and third. Daniel Cornman and Bruce Kane completed the top five.

The Street Stock race ended with Iser leading by a half of a track over Ronnie Garlock. Iser took the lead from Travis Brown and led Brown by eight car lengths through the halfway point. After Brown fell out on lap 12, Iser was left to cruise to the win. Brown ended up fourth. Buddy Jones finished third and Bryan Kerns was fifth.

In the Hobby Stock race, Riley held off Michael in the closest finish of the night. After controlling the lead from the start, Riley was under pressure from Michael starting at lap five.

Michael made a run at Riley on lap 12 but ran out of room on the bottom. He responded by trying the high side on the next lap without success by the time the checkered flag came out. After Moreland in third, Brad Nesline and Jason Haggerty rounded out the top five.

The 4-Cylinder feature started with a multi-car crash that wiped out four cars. After the restart, Iski took the lead and Lauffer followed him to second.

Iski kept Lauffer pinned down on the bottom of the track long enough to lead until the halfway point. Lauffer eventually pulled away to win by a half of a straightaway. Dave Lambert finished third. Dwain Rhodes ended up fourth after starting at the back of the field. David Williams was fifth.