Susquehanna Banquet Honors Track Champions


YORK HAVEN, Pa. – Susquehanna Speedway officially closed out the season Saturday evening with its annual awards banquet held at the Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel.

More than 300 guests representing teams, sponsors and fans were on hand.

Track champions and top point drivers received point fund money and trophies for their accomplishments this season.

Russ Mitten was honored as the Credit Connection Auto Sales Super Sportsman track champion. It was the first title for the Newville, Pa., veteran. Mitten led all drivers in wins, taking three checkered flags to go along with his 14 top-10 finishes, 12 of which were top five runs. Several nights, Mitten made charges through the field after lining up deep in the field.

The balance of the top 10 drivers in Super Sportsman points were Scott Geesey, Scott Dellinger, Tony Jackson, Mike Enders, Rich Eichelberger, Kenny Edkin, Gregg Foster, Chad Criswell and Jay Fannasy.

Randy Christine Jr. clinched the 358 Late Model track championship after scoring four feature wins during the year. Christine’s first title came on the heels of four feature wins and 11 top-10 finishes, all inside the top five.

Randy Stoudt, Jake Jones, Steve Billet, Matt Murphy, Shaun Jones, Chase Billet, Travis Mease, Dave Latsha and Charles Potts were honored as top 10 late model drivers in points.

Mike Potts was honored as the Street Stock champion for the first time in his career. Potts scored four feature wins and had 10 top-10 finishes, nine of which came in the top five.

Street Stock drivers in the top 10 also honored were Ryan Smith, Craig Morgan, Bob Scott Jr., Eddie Richards, Scott Thunberg, Jim Palm, Eric Tripp, Josh Bloom and Walt Lemmon.

For the second consecutive season, Alex Updegraff clinched the Extreme Stock championship. Updegraff had three wins and 10 top five finishes.

Following Updegraff in Xtreme Stocks points were Jon Frye, Ronnie Buck, Brian Rehbein and Michael Smith.

Daryl Sipe was honored as the Road Warrior champion. The championship was his fourth straight and fifth overall. The balance of the top five in points were honored included Travis Brown, Lee Redman, Robbie Carroll and Brandon Hedstrom.

Steve Gayman, mechanic on the Russ Mitten No. 77 Super Sportsman was named the Ree Smith Mechanic of the Year.

Bruce Buckwalter, Jr. (Super Sportsman) and Patrick McClane (358 Late Models) were named Rookie of the Year presented by Luckyshot. Both drivers received $200 from Nouse Graphics and K1 Race Gear.

Veteran driver Rich Eichelberger was honored with the Most Outstanding Contribution to the Sport Award.

Jim McGilton was Presented with the Sportsmanship Award while Chad Stine won the Rookie of the Year Award presented by Luckyshot for the Street Stocks.