Stoyer, Swavely Claim Linda’s Sprint Wins

Josh Stoyer claimed the 270 Sprints win Friday at Linda's Speedway. (Amy Williams photo)
Josh Stoyer claimed the 270 Sprints win Friday at Linda's Speedway. (Amy Williams photo)
Josh Stoyer claimed the 270 Sprints win Friday at Linda’s Speedway. (Amy Williams photo)

JONESTOWN, Pa. – Josh Stoyer set quick time a week ago in time trials at Linda’s Speedway and blew up in the heat races.

On Friday night, Stoyer had to be a little uncomfortable as he led the RTS Chassis sponsored 270 Sprint feature event. Stoyer was very fast again and was granted some timely yellows to stay out of lap traffic, which helped him speed to the win.

It was Stoyer’s ninth career Linda’s Speedway win. Lyle Stroman was second with Nick Skias, Scott Gingrich and Dave Grube the top five.

To say Dylan Hoch has been fast in the Savage Hyundai Slingshots would be an understatement. Hoch has improved week in and week out and Friday night he showed that their hard work would pay off. Hoch led green to checkered even with some challenges from Sam Scicchitano.

Scicchitano came across in second; Kenny Heffner marked a career best third place finish with Alex Schoffstall and Dylan Sweinhart rounding out the top five. Brett Bieber charged to sixth with point leader Justin Thompson, Travis and Kyle Gruber, and Travis Bieber rounding out the top ten. Slingshot heat races for the 19 car field were won by Travis Gruber, Dylan Hoch, and Dylan Sweinhart.

Jason Swavely has now in one week’s time won the Tri Track Challenge with a second, and two thirds. He is rolling, and he kept rolling Friday night with a dominating second Wingless Sprint win of the year.

Tony Dimattia challenged Swavely on restarts but once the field would get a longer green flag run Swavely was unmatched. It was Swavely’s third win of the season with Dimattia, Molly Chambers, Bruce Ginther Jr, and Ernie Miles the top five. Garrett Glassman had a strong sixth place run as well as Frankie Peters in his first wingless run.

ARDC Midget driver Bruce Buckwalter was eighth. Kenny Murray and Jacob Severn were the top 10 finishers. Kayla Stoltzfus, Jason Swavely, and Steve Whary were the Wingless Sprint heat race winners. 19 of the Wingless Sprints were on hand.

The Poker Series had been a producer of first time winners in each of the three races this year. Jason Dunkleberger wrestled the lead away from Richie Hitzler on the opening lap and never looked back.

The finish:

Jason Swavely;  Tony Dimattia; Molly Chambers; Bruce Ginther Jr; Ernie Miles; Garrett Glassman; Frankie Peters; Bruce Buckwalter;  Kenny Murray; Jacob Severn; Hunter James; Donovan Felker; Eric Whitby; Dylan Binkley; John Casazza; Jason Sechrist;  Steve Whary; Chris James

Previous articleSteffenhagen Inherits Spencer Triumph
Next articleSears Leads Brewerton Winners List is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.