Stephans Capitalizes At PPMS


PITTSBURGH – Mother Nature may have delayed the racing action by one day, but the Sunday racing action at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway was certainly some of the best area race fans have seen all season as Jim Stephans capitalized on Tony Musolino’s misfortune to score his second Super Late Model victory of the season.

Other winners included Mike Pegher, Jr. (Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro-Late Models), Bill Robertson (Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman), Ed Wiser ( Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stocks) and Dylan Bolind (Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns).

Jim Stephans and Daryl Charlier led the Super Late Model main event to the green with Charlier leading the first two laps before newlywed Tony Musolino captured the top spot. Musolino would lead the next 12 circuits before a broken water pump belt forced the Hays heating and Cooling sponsored number 21 to retire to the pit area.

Musolino’s misfortune enabled Stephans to take over the top spot with ten laps remaining. Stephans was able to work his way through the lapped traffic and score his second Super Late Model victory of the season in the Colbert’s Collision sponsored Rocket Chassis over Alex Ferree, Ben Miley, Michael Norris and Kyle Lukon.

Norris and Ferree captured the Super Late Model prelims.

Nico Dabecco and Steve Beatty led the 20 car Pro-Late Model field to the green with Dabecco leading the first two circuits before the caution waved for Jeremy Adamik who slowed on the backstretch. Beatty, who was making his first start of 2013, got by Dabecco on the restart and began to pull away from the field.

The event’s second caution flew on lap 14 when Chuck Medved slowed in turn two. Pittsburgh, PA driver Josh Holtgraver would get around Beatty on the next circuit before Mike Pegher, Jr. took over the top spot on lap 18. The event’s final caution flew when Tony White and Chris Lander tangled on the backstretch and set up a two lap “shootout” for the finish. Pegher, Jr. was able to hold on to the top spot and score his second PPMS victory of the season over Holtgraver, Justin Lamb (who had started in the 13th spot), Colton Flinner and Dabecco.

Beatty and Mark Moats scored the wins in Pro-Late Model heat action.

Curt Bish and Bill Robertson led the Late Model Sportsman main event to the green but a caution for Brian Huchko would slow the field before the first lap was completed. When the racing action resumed Robertson took the top spot and withstood the challenges of Joey Koteles and Nick Kocuba to score his third win of the season. Christian Schneider and Drew Koteles rounded out the top five.

Robertson and Brian Huchko were victorious in Sportsman heat race action.

The 12 lap Hobby Stock main event saw fourth place starter Ed Wiser take the lead on the first lap and score his first victory at PPMS since April 7, 2012. Ian Tomei piloted the Frank Schneider owner Mach 5 machine to a second place finish followed by Steve Pyreitz, Hannah Ramsey and Don Black.

Wiser also claimed the lone Hobby Stock heat event.

Dylan Bolind scored his seventh Young Guns win of the season as the Imperial, PA teenager led the six lap main event “wire to wire.” Roman O’Neill was second followed by O.B. Huff and Karlee Kovacs.