Stangle Scores First Win On New Egypt Dirt


NEW EGYPT, N.J. – Rookie Matt Stangle broke through for his first modified victory at New Egypt Speedway during Throwback Night on Saturday evening.

As the green flag waved to start the 30-lap Modified feature, Stangle grabbed the lead with Steve Davis, Kevin Vaclavicek, Jim Bobbitt and Blaine Bracelin in the chase. Vaclavicek motored by Davis into second with four circuits recorded.

On lap eight, the first of two cautions in the event took place for Davey Sammons. When action resumed, Stangle maintained his advantage with Vaclavicek and Davis still in second and third respectively.

Behind the top three, two racers, Ryan Godown and Danny Bouc, were making moves to the front of the pack. Godown, who started in eighth and was steering the Steve Searock owned Modified on this night, motored into fourth with eleven laps in the books. The 16th-place starting Bouc zipped into fifth as the lap counter displayed 14.

At the halfway point, Stangle was still on top with Vaclavicek in second and Godown in third. As a good stretch of green flag racing continued and only 10 laps remaining, the top three of Stangle, Vaclavicek and Godown were almost nose-to-tail and approaching the back end of the field.

As the final third of the event began, Stangle began to knife his way through traffic. With six laps remaining, Bouc slipped by Davis to gain fourth place. One lap later, the caution flag waved for the second and final time as the third place running Godown developed a flat right rear tire.

On the single file restart, Stangle held onto the front running position with Bouc moving past Vaclavicek to take over the runner-up spot. Over the final few laps, Stangle drove flawlessly to secure his first ever Modified feature victory.

Bouc came home in second with Vaclavicek finishing third.  A strong run by Davis resulted in a fourth place finish. Modified rookie J.R. Fulper completed the contest in fifth.

The Mr. Crate Classic for Crate Modifieds was won by Connor King while Jermain Godshall bested the field in the main event for the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars. Jon Meyer was the victor in the Street Stock race and Joe Garey Sr. took top honors in the 4-Cylinder contest.