Selinsgrove Sprint Belongs To Stutz


SELINSGROVE, Pa. — T.J. Stutts and Mark Smith exchanged the lead several times before Stutts settled the suspenseful war on wheel s with a victory in Saturday night’s 30-lap Patriot Sprint Tour/11th annual Joe Whitcomb Memorial for 358-360 sprint cars at Selinsgrove Speedway.

The $2,571 win was Stutts’ third of the season and third career in the Whitcomb Memorial at the wheel of the Mountain View Travel/Shimock’s Furniture No. 23. The victory also marked the 20th of his career in 358-360 sprint car competition at the track.

Brock Zearfoss was the night’s Fast Tees Fast Qualifier with a lap time of 17.414. Dylan Yoder won his first race of the season at Selinsgrove and fourth overall this year in record-setting fashion in the 25-lap super late model feature. Yoder became the division’s seventh different feature winner in eight races and set a track record for the distance in 9 minutes, 3 seconds, and .30 of a second.

Nathan Long scored an exciting win in another close finish in the 15-lap pro stock feature. Long became the division’s third different winner this season.