Seifert Scores At Trail-Way


HANOVER, Pa. — “Daytime racing, I hate it. But it just works out my way.” explained Hanover’s Shawn Seifert after exiting his 600cc Micro Sprint in victory lane. Seifert started fifth and was running fourth when everything changed.

Joe Kay started on the pole for the 20-lap feature and led the field through lapped traffic and held off several challenges by a charging Tyler Walton. But while Kay and Walton were battling for the lead in turn 3 coming to the white flag, the about to be lapped car of Cheyenne Topper lost control and spun right in front of the leaders in turn four.

With nowhere to go, Kay and Walton piled into Topper, ending the race for all three drivers. This gave the lead to 2nd-starting David Holbrook. On the restart, third-place runner Shane Lewis drove by Seifert to take the second spot. But the caution flew with 19 laps down when Colton Laughman and Bo Gordon made contact in turn two and came to a stop. While under caution, Lewis pulled into the infield with problems.

On the final restart, Holbrook failed to take off giving the top spot over to Seifert, who led the final lap to claim the victory. It was reported that Holbrook suffered gearing issues.

Mike Rutherford crossed second with Brian Carber, Travis Esh, and Heath Hehnly completing the top five.

In Red Lion Chevrolet sponsored Central PA Legend Car action, Scott Gobrecht came from 6th to claim the win in the 20-lap feature event. Polesitter Bill Diehl took the lead on the start and paced the field for the first 6 laps before stopping on the track under caution. Diehl took his machine to the pits handing the lead to Gobrecht. Gobrecht battled with 10th-starting Robert Stough for the remainder of the race. Following Gobrecht across the line were Stough, Lucas Montgomery, 21st-starting Harlon Leppo, and Chris Spidle.

Nik Gower started on the pole and led every lap to pick up the 20-lap 270cc feature win. Gower’s biggest challenger was 5th-starting Mike Rutherford who took second from Jim Still by diving to the inside in turn one on a restart. Rutherford tried that same move on Gower on a 13th-lap restart, but Gower knew he was there and slammed the door. Rutherford held on to finish second with Still, Steven Cox, and Cory Myers rounding out the top 10.

Kyle Brown from Bethel, PA claimed both feature wins in the newly formed Affordable Controlled Micro Sprint (ACMS) Series. Brown led all the laps in both features. Alyssa Rowe finished second in the first feature and Brandon Noel finished second in the second feature.