Rohrbaugh Scores In Trail-Way Return


HANOVER, Pa. – It didn’t take Jeff Rohrbaugh long to find victory lane at Trail-Way Speedway.

Making his first Trail-Way start of the season, Rohrbaugh drew the pole and led every lap of the 25-lap 358 sprint car feature.

“You’re the tenth person that told me you were glad to see me, so there are at least ten liars here tonight,” quipped Rohrbaugh.

“We weren’t planning to run here this year, but we missed some races and wanted to give our sponsors some exposure,” said Rohrbaugh. “We’re going to pick up some races, so hopefully we’ll be back here.”

Though he led every lap, Rohrbaugh received pressure from both Robbie Kendall and Brad McClelland during the race. First it was Kendall, who started fifth and assumed second when Dwight Leppo and Cody Fletcher made contact and spun on the backstretch of the first lap. Leppo chased Rohrbaugh for 14 laps before ninth-starting McClelland caught Kendall for second on lap 15.

But four laps later, McClelland dropped off the pace with motor problems, brought out the caution, and went to the pits, handing second back over to Kendall.

“I got a little lazy there and had the wing too far back,” said Rohrbaugh. “It’s good we got a caution so I could move the wing up. I don’t know if I would have passed anyone, but they didn’t pass me, either.”

Randy Whisler, Seth Kearchner, and Denny Gross completed the top five.

Rohrbaugh also won the lone qualifier for the nine sprint cars on hand.

Lady driver Hannah Riser drove to her second career Trail-Way win in the 600cc micro-sprint feature. She started on the pole and also led every lap, but had to withstand heavy late-race pressure from 17th-starting Tyler Walton, who actually pushed her across the finish line.

Walton missed his qualifying event with his car torn down, and put on the show of the night in advancing to second at the end. Third through fifth were 12th-starting Brad Weber, Timmie Barrick, and David Holbrook.

Heats for the 18 micros were won by Jeremy Glass and Shawn Seifert.

Blaine Leppo came from sixth starting spot to win the 20-lap Central PA Legend feature.

Chris McKinney led the first eight laps from the pole, but dropped from the field while leading during a ninth-lap caution. Jacob Feltch assumed the lead for the next six laps before Leppo wrestled the lead in a multi-car battle for the top spot.

Leppo led the rest of the way, with Bill Diehl, Feltch, and Lucas Montgomery completing the top five.

Qualifiers for the 24 Central PA Legends cars were won by Leppo and Bob Stough.

Matt Chronister scored his third win of the year in the 15-lap championship event for the limited stocks. Chronister drew the pole and was never headed.

Cory Weishaar, Ricky Weaver, Jr., Tom Senseney, Jr., and Robbie Carroll rounded out the top five.

Heats for the 18 limited stocks were won by Ricky Weaver, Jr. and Rob Nicklow.

Previous articleCruz Makes Record Run In Englishtown
Next articleAll Mauer At Linda’s Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.