Repeat Winners Control Dog Hollow


STRONGSTOWN, Pa. – Repeat winners was the theme of the night Friday at Dog Hollow Speedway as four drivers won their second features of the season.

Clate Copeman (Townsend Gas & Oil Super Late Models), Mike Laughard (Lias Tire FASTRAK Crate Late Models), Bob Pease (4 Cylinders) and Nate Smith (Street Stocks) were all repeat winners. Ryan Claycomb won his first-ever Pure Stock feature.

The 25-lap Townsend Gas & Oil Super Late Model feature was a heated battle between Duane Stiner, Clate Copeman and Ron Delano Jr. Stiner took the initial lead at the drop of the green and led the first ten laps before Clate Copeman passed him on lap eleven. Stiner stayed glued to his bumper and was attempting a pass when the yellow flew.

Copeman held his lead while Stiner had to now deal with eight starting Ron Delano. Delano got by Stiner for second on lap 22 and made a run at Copeman but fell short at the finish. At the checker it was Copeman earning his second win of the season over Delano, Shawn Claar, Dwayne Taneyhill, Robbie Black (from 16th), Terry Rayko, Joey Petyak, Dan Lee and Dwayne Brooks. Copeman and Claar were heat winners.

Polesitter Joe Moyer was looking for his first win of the season in the Lias Tire FASTRAK Crate Late Models. Moyer jumped into the lead as the green flag waved. Moyer was pulling away when a yellow on lap 10 closed the gap for Mike Laughard. Laughard, who started eighth, used the restart to his advantage and took over the top spot. Laughard raced off for his second divisional win. Moyer held onto second followed by Corey Neal, Jeremy Shaffer, John Eckenrod, Shane Weaver, Jeff Compton, Ron Smithley, John Mazey and Josh Valenti. Grabbing the heat wins were Shaffer and Neal.

Ryan Claycomb over came motor problems from last week lead all 15 laps in the Pure Stock feature. Claycomb’s crew changed the motor in his No. 7 and he rewarded them with his first feature win in the division. Marshall Detwiller was third followed by Jim Eiselman Jr., David Beahr and Jeff Shaffer Jr. Claycomb also won the lone heat race.

The FWD 4 Cylinder feature found Dustin Tolar leading the first three laps before Bob Pease sailed by for the lead. Pease checked out for his second straight win. Tolar held off Tom Pavelko for second. John Hayes and Brady Miller were the top five. Heats were won by Pavelko, John Costa and Mike Phillipson.

Three different drivers took turns leading the Street Stock feature before Nate Smith claimed his second of the season. Tim Bish, in his first visit, led the first three laps until Smith took over the lead. Dan Smeal used a restart on lap eight to take the lead, but it was short lived. On the next lap Smith went back in front for good. Smeal was second over Tim Bish, Matt Hugill and Ray Hickok Jr. Heat races were won by Smith and Smeal.

Previous articleWOO: The Dirt Track at Charlotte
Next articleKroll Wins Big At Luxemburg is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.