Reed Strikes Again At Wall Stadium


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. – Two-time All American Auto Group Modified stock car champion Steven Reed raced to his fourth main event win of the season Saturday night at Wall Stadium Speedway.

A pair of drivers, Joey Merlino and Kevin Davison, fought for their first main event wins in the test as Reed worked his way to the front of the pack. A lap 18 restart saw Davison power to the front past Merlino in the outside lane before another caution slowed the action. Davison again worked the outside lane on the ensuing restart before both Merlino and Davison tangled in turn two. Reed then raced into the lead after his climb to the head of the field.

Reed then survived a few more cautions before stretching his advantage to the checker flag. Andrew Krause and Eddie McCarthy were second and third while Eric Mauriello and Chris Andretta wrapped up the top five.

“This win is for the fans,” an emotional Reed said after the win. “Every week a lot of people come up to me in the stands and that really means a lot. Some come up and wish me luck like I’m a man going off to war. Their encouragement helps. Even the haters help us by encouraging us to go faster.

“I also have to thank my family and backers for all they do to make this car fast. It is so much fun to drive because it is so good. My spotter kept telling to to take it easy and save the tires in case there was another restart. It is hard to slow down when the car is so good.”

Point leader Elliot Wohl took a step toward his first O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Stock title by wining his fifth 25-lap main event of the year. Former champ Scott Riggleman led much of the first half of the race before settling for second, while Tom Rajkowski, Bryan O’Shea and Joey Helberg wrapped up the top five.

Former champion Brian Osborn raced into the lead on lap five and drove on to his second victory of the year in the 25-lapper for the Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder Stocks. Alonzo Morales and point leader Neil Rutt III were second and third while Sal Liguori and Jeffrey Loesch were fourth and fifth.

Eric Mauriello jumped into the Alan Camp No. x3 for the Center State Engineering Sportsman 25-lapper and crossed the finish line first, but when that team suffered a tire bank infraction Jonathan Laureigh was awarded the feature race win. Tommy Martino, point leader Carsten DiGiantomasso, Jake Nelke and Roland DeMartino of Beachwood were second through fifth.