Rahmer Stops Dietrich At Lincoln

Freddie Rahmer, shown earlier this season won Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway. (Dan Demarco photo)
Freddie Rahmer, shown earlier this season won Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway. (Dan Demarco photo)

ABBOTTSTOWN, Pa. — Freddie Rahmer scored his third victory of the season at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday night, taking home $5,000.

Rahmer lined up third for the 33-lap feature behind polesitter Danny Dietrich and Adam Wilt.

Dietrich went to the top of the track to take the lead on the first lap while Rahmer got under Wilt down the backstretch for second.

As Dietrich caught the tail-end of the field on lap six, Rahmer was closing in. Rahmer took the lead in turn four on lap seven. Dietrich tried to take the lead back coming out of turn two but Rahmer held the spot.

When Rahmer struggled to get by a lapped car, Dietrich would get within striking distance. Once Rahmer made the pass he would pull away as Dietrich worked on getting around the same car.

On lap 17, Rahmer was stuck trying to put two cars battling for position down a lap with Dietrich closing the gap. The caution came out on lap 18 for Chad Trout and Brian Montieth in turn four.

Rahmer led Dietrich, Cory Haas, Adam Wilt and Alan Krimes to the cone for the single-file restart. Rahmer went to the bottom on the restart with Dietrich trying the top. Rahmer held onto the lead in turns 1 and 2. Dietrich made a move for the lead in turns 3 and 4 to no avail.

Despite bouncing off the wall in turn 2 on lap 20, Dietrich held on to the second spot.

Haas and Macri were battling for third when contact was made sending Haas into the wall in turn two. The red flag came out on lap 21 as a result of the wreck.

This time it was Rahmer leading Dietrich, Macri, Krimes and Wilt for the restart.

Rahmer went to the top of the track with Dietrich diving low on the restart. Rahmer once again held onto the lead. Jim Siegel made his way up to fifth on the restart after starting 12th.

The leaders were running against the cushion at the top of the track when the caution came out on lap 27 for Wilt and Montieth in turn on.

Dietrich tried a slide job in turns one and two on the restart but couldn’t make it stick. Siegel got around Krimes for fourth.

Rahmer held on to the lead and beat Dietrich to the line by .738 seconds. Macri crossed the line third. Siegel finished fourth and Krimes completed the top five.

C.J. Tracy found himself back in victory lane for the second year in a row on Fallen Firefighters Night at the track, topping the 358 sprint car main event. It was Tracy’s third career win at the speedway.

The finish:

Feature (33 Laps) – 1. 51-Freddie Rahmer ($5,000); 2. 48-Danny Dietrich; 3. 39M-Anthony Macri; 4. 59-Jim Siegel; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 7. 19M-Landon Myers; 8. 99-Kyle Moody; 9. 29-Dan Shetler; 10. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 11. 52AU-Darren Mollenoyux; 12. 49H-Bradley Howard; 13. 10K-Joe Kata; 14. 90-Jordan Givler; 15. 15-Adam Wilt (DNF); 16. 21-Brian Montieth (DNF); 17. 39-Cory Haas (DNF); 18. 1X-Chad Trout (DNF); 19. 88-Brandon Rahmer (DNF); 20. 75-Chase Dietz (DNF); 21. 53-Jessie Attard (DNF); 22. 17-Cole Young (DNF); 23. 7-Trey Hivner (DNF); 24. 1*-Tim Wagaman (DNF)