Racing Season Begins At Trail-Way


HANOVER, Pa. – Trail-Way Speedway opened the 2014 racing season with a sunny but windy day race.

“It was windy,” said Arron Spahr after leading the entire 600cc Micro Sprint feature. “The track was slick.”

But it didn’t affect Spahr’s ability to hold his line and even pull away from the rest of the field.

Spahr started on the pole, had great restarts and was never seriously challenged for the lead. There was a battle for the second spot during the second half of the race between Kameron Morral and Tyler Walton. Morral crossed the finish line in second 1.56 seconds behind Spahr with Walton crossing third. Defending track champion Jim Young and David Holbrook completed the top five.

Mike Rutherford was running fourth when he and two other cars got together, causing Rutherford to flip in turn one of lap six. Rutherford took a few minutes before getting out of the car, but was able to exit the machine on his own.

Arron Spar and Jim Young picked up heat wins for the 17 600cc Micro Sprints.

Rutherford came back less than a half hour after flipping in the 600cc feature to skillfully claim the 20-lap Mason-Dixon 270cc Micro Sprint feature.

“We weren’t the best car out there,” explained a sore Rutherford in victory lane. “The best car [Brian Marriot] got caught up in a wreck.”

Marriott led the first 12 laps and pulled away from the field. Unfortunately, as Marriott caught the rear of the field, a car spun in turn two right in front of Marriott. Marriott tried to go to the outside, but slid into the outside wall ending his afternoon. This handed the lead to polesitter Cory Myers.

On the restart, there was a four car battle for the lead. The leaders were three wide at the exit of turn four. Richie Hartman led lap 13 at the line, but Rutherford came from fifth to lead off turn two. Rutherford pulled away from the field over the final seven laps to win by 2.38 seconds over Hartman. Mike Boyer, Robert Blumenshine, and Mike Coen rounded out the top five.

Rutherford and Marriott claimed heat wins for the 16 Mason-Dixon 270cc Micro Sprints on hand.

Chris Spidle started on the pole and led all 20 laps in the Central PA Legends Car feature.

“That was the longest 20 laps,” said Spidle. “Everyone wanted to be on the bottom for the day race.”

Spidle was able to hold that line throughout the race despite late race challenges from fellow front row starter, Lucas Montgomery.

“These [Legends drivers] are amazing,” said Spidle. “Montgomery is one of the cleanest drivers I’ve raced with. [Montgomery] had several opportunities to pass me and he didn’t.”

Montgomery tried several times to sneak to the inside of Spidle, but was never able made the pass for the lead.

Bill Diehl was credited with second with Chad Earnst, Montgomery and Harlon Leppo completing the top five.

Central PA Legends heat winners were Travis McClelland and Robert Stough. Stough flew through the air during a late race caution involving Chris Transeau, Richard Miller and Mike Gable.

Justin Whittail bested the ACMS 600cc Stock Micro Sprint field when he claimed his first feature win and created a 20-lap track record. The young driver inherited the lead on lap 5 when Gunnar Layton blew a motor while leading.

Whittail was unchallenged for the remainder of the event finishing all 20 laps in 5 minutes, 48.69 seconds. Brent Sparks and Timothy Glackin crossed second and third.

Gunnar Layton claimed the heat for the ACMS 600cc Stock Micro Sprints.

Previous articleNATIONWIDE: 300
Next articleRhodes Breaks Through In Greenville is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.