Pauch Still Owns New Egypt


NEW EGYPT, N.J. – Defending New Egypt Speedway modified track champion Billy Pauch won for the third time in as many tries Saturday as he captured the 30 lap modified main event once again.

Pauch was a man on a mission, as he started 14th and had the lead by lap nine as he drove to his 119th career win at the speedway.

Darren McCaughey and Danny Bouc started the event first and second as Rocco Infante challenged and quickly took over second. On lap six McCaughey was still showing the way as runner-up Infante slowed on the speedway with mechanical woes slowing the action. At this point Pauch had moved into third and on the restart Jimmy Blewett was able to charge by Pauch.

This was short lived though, as Pauch returned the favor and then wasted no time blasting by Bouc for second. Two laps later Pauch dove under McCaughey in turn one, powering into the lead which he would never relinquish. Ryan Godown quickly followed Pauch past McCaughey and kept pace with Pauch thru lapped traffic, but could not close the gap.

With the race going non-stop the rest of the way Pauch cruised home to the victory chased by a persistent Godown. Sammy Piazza was very impressive taking third, followed by strong early leader McCaughey and Blewett.

Steven Drevicki won the ARDC Midget Series season opener. Drevicki lead until halfway when Alex Bright, who had been chasing him from the early going, finally caught and passed him for the top spot. However, on lap 15, Bright’s car slowed and he retired from the event as Drevicki flew by back to the lead. Drevicki was too much for the rest of the field to handle as he drove to his fifth career checkered flag with the series. Brendan Bright finished a solid second ahead of Kyle Lick, Tony DiMattia and Brett Wanner.

The sportsman class bounced back nicely after last week’s tough start. Mike Butler took top honors this week in a very competitive race that saw only two cautions slow the action. Butler led the event wire to wire, holding off Mike Lyons early and then a late charge by Brian Roemer for the win. Roemer was second followed by Johnny Cornell, Lyons and Mike Hendershot.

The street stock 20 lapper was won by Bill Liedtka, as he raced thru the field into second, getting the lead when race long leader Jason Saredy broke with just five laps remaining. Defending champ Dan Collamer came home second, Jarrod Burdge was third as Billy Wroble and Tom Princiotta rounded out the top five.