Ott Takes Control At Trail-Way Speedway


HANOVER, Pa. – Jeremy Ott came from seventh starting spot to claim the win in the 20-lap four-Cylinder Stock car feature Saturday night at Trail-Way Speedway.

Outside front row starter Mike Potts took the lead on the start and started to pull away from the field. Polesitter Eric Hollenbach fell in behind Potts, and Ott was in third by lap three. Ott closed the gap on Hollenbach and drove under Hollenbach to take second in turns one and two of lap eight.

From there, Ott closed on Potts. In turn two of lap 16, Potts slid high allowing Ott to take the lead going down the backstretch. Potts held on for second with Hollenbach, Dan Smith, and John Stoll, Jr. rounding out the top five.

The race was a qualifier for the Miller Fall Classic race which will be held at Susquehanna Speedway Park on October 20th, so Ott is now guaranteed to be in the Miller Fall Classic.

Heats for the 12 4-Cylinder Stock cars were won by Jeremy Ott and Mike Potts.

Only five cars reported out for the Junk Car Demolition race, but it turned out to be quite an aggressive and damaging battle with the final three cars. John Shorb, Jr. and Terry Hartlaub came out of a large smoke cloud as the last car running to claim the Junk Car Demo title.

There was an exciting battle among Shorb, second place finisher Christina Johnson, and third place Jim Jacobs. Shorb and Jacobs both had very good control of their cars and were able to maneuver their machines quickly and hit the other cars. Johnson, with a slightly larger car did not have quite as tight of a turn radius, but after several hits, her car had minimal damage.

Jacobs’ car came to a stop and was unable to restart narrowing it down to Johnson and Shorb. Johnson chased Shorb for a short time before the two cars hit causing Johnson’s car to smoke.

With both cars smoking heavily, it was a matter of who could last the longest. Shorb’s front wheel drive car had no rear tires and one rear wheel was bent, so he had difficulties moving very far.

But with one final hit, only one car could be heard with it’s engine still running. Out of the smoke cloud came Shorb and Hartlaub victorious.

Polesitter Brian Walls lead all 15-laps to claim his first Limited Stock feature win of the year at Trail-Way Speedway. Seventh-starting Terry Hartlaub worked his way to second by lap four, and 10th-starting Rod Weaver worked his way to third.

On a lap 10 restart, Weaver got by Hartlaub for second. Jimmy Tyson and Sarah Redmond also got around Hartlaub to finish third and fourth with Hartlaub crossing fifth.

Heats for the 15 Limited Stocks were won by Jeff Foster and Jason Chronister.

Shawn Crunkilton claimed the victory in the 12-lap Scramble Car race. Crunkilton battled with race long leader Alan Shoff for the first eight laps before he was able to make the race-winning pass. Shoff crossed second at the finish with 2012 Points Champion Brad Kress coming from 9th-starting spot to finish third.

Dennis Dorosz claimed the win in the 15-lap Figure 8 feature. In victory lane, Dorosz exclaimed, “This is the best track I’ve ever raced on!”

Dorosz started fourth and took the lead from outside front row starter Shawn Crunkilton on lap five. Crunkilton slowed as he was entering the “X” in the infield as he saw cars coming through the other direction. Dorosz came into the “X” behind Crunkilton at full speed to fly by Crunkilton as Crunkilton was speeding up to go through the infield.

Chelsea Weaver dominated the 12-lap Junk Car Powder Puff feature event. Weaver, a regular Limited Stock driver, started fifth and led every lap of the event. Misti Kopp came from 9th to finish second, with Christina Johnson crossing third.

The “Best Appearing Junk Car” award was given to Powder Puff drive Alexis Kellison in the number 33. LeAnn Schneider in the #42 was awarded second.