Ott & Buckwalter Star At Susky


NEWBERRYTOWN, Pa. — On Saturday night, Coleby Frye won the 20-lap late model feature at the Susquehanna Speedway Park. Then on Sunday night, Aaron Ott won a thrilling 25-lap sprint-car feature event over Danny Dietrich.


Ott grabbed the early lead from the front row and never looked back to win the 25-lap Sprint Car Spring Classic main event. Ott was pursued by numerous drivers, but none came close enough until the late stage of the race when Danny Dietrich made a run at Ott in the waning stages of the race.


At the end, Dietrich settled for second. Greg Hodnett finished third after starting 15th, however, Brian Montieth passed the most cars by finishing fourth after starting dead-last (24th) in the feature. Mark Smith was fifth.


In the wingless ARDC Midget feature event, Steve Buckwalter, the 2010 ARDC midget champion grabbed the early lead and never looked back as he wired the field from start-to-finish to win the 20-lap feature event.


Ryan Smith pursued Buckwalter but never got close enough to challenge for the win and settled for second place. Nick Wean finished third, followed by Tim Buckwalter and Alex Bright.


On Saturday, Frye started on the pole and wired the field to win his first late-model feature event of the season. Multi-time SSP track champion Carl Billet pursued Frye throughout most of the race, but was involved in a multi-car accident with three laps remaining. His son, Steve Billet inherited the runner-up spot and finished strong in second behind Frye at the end.


Randy Christine, Jr. followed in third with Justin Ehrhart finishing fourth. John Moser, Jr. rounded out the top five.


Doug Bennett topped the street stock feature and Dave Kamp won the Xtreme Stock Car main. Logan Wagner won the PA Sprint Series race.




Previous articleBucklen Rules Colorado
Next articleHausmann, Hogge Top Merced is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.