Okerson Secures Wall Stadium Victory


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. — After racing in contention for most of the 40-lap distance Saturday night, point leader Chas Okerson was awarded the modified main event victory at Wall Stadium when apparent winner Jonathan Mandato of Toms River lost his victory to due a post-race tech inspection problem.

Young Derek Hopkinson of Toms River led early and was soon challenged by Holmdel’s Andrew Krause and Mandato as Okerson lurked in fourth. After a tight battle between the top two for the lead Hopkinson spun in the second turn and Krause was sent to the rear of the field for what officials felt was his contribution to the miscue.

This turn of events sent Modified rookie Mandato to the lead with Okerson on his bumper. The duo raced nose-to-tail to the finish line before Mandato’s win was overturned.

Following Okerson to his 13th career Modified win was Shaun Carrig of Little Falls, Howell’s Eric Mauriello, Jason Treat of Jackson and Krause.

Trevor Alspach of Willingboro raced into the lead on the sixth lap and then fought off Krause through the final 20 circuits to win the companion 30-lapper for the Sportsman cars. Point leader and former champion Kevin Eyres of Colts Neck, Brick’s Robert Sutphin and Kevin Davison of Howell wrapped up the top five.

John Bowers of Pt. Pleasant raced into the lead with just two laps remaining in the Factory Stock 25-lapper, but a post-race technical inspection problem handed the win to Union’s Joey Helberg in the final rundown. Point leader Ronnie Mullen of Brick was advanced to second over title contender Scott Riggleman of Manchester. Lee Allen of Old Bridge and Marty Van Druten of Toms River were fourth and fifth.

Third generation driver Cole Ormsbee of Wall grabbed his first ever win in the 25-lapper for the 4 Cylinder cars taking the lead for good on the second lap. James Meyers of Port Monmouth was second, while Beachwood’s Todd Pilla, Wall’s Brien Crosby and Al Morales completed the top five.

Brian Doyle of Coram, N.Y. grabbed his fifth Limited Late Model win of the campaign and inched closer to his first driving crown here. Anthony Crimaldi of Port Monmouth, Jackson’s Howie Conk, Beachwood’s Bill Vanderveen and Jack Sayegh of South Toms River wrapped up the top five.

Ryan Tidman of Levittown, Pa. won the 25-lapper for the touring TQ Midgets after a strong battle with Joey Bailey of Helmetta. Emily Krause of Holmdel won a special 15-lap Ladies’ Race over Stephanie Romanoskie and Nancy Hills.