Miley Thrills On Selinsgrove Dirt


SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Jared Miley extended his points lead in the Ultimate Northeast Late Model Series with his $3,000 win in Saturday night’s 30-lap Showdown on Sand Hill at Selinsgrove Speedway.

The victory was Miley’s second of the season in the series and his first at Selinsgrove Speedway. He became the 11th different winner in 12 races this season in the super late model division, making it one of the most competitive seasons in late model history at the track.

Yoder and Greg Satterlee led the field to the start of the Ultimate Northeast Late Model Series feature, with Satterlee rocketing to the lead.  Jason Covert, Gene Knaub, and Jared Miley were in the top five.

Satterlee, who won on Friday at Path Valley Speedway, saw a nice lead wiped out on lap eight when Billy Wampler stopped on the speedway.

Using the Delaware restarts, Satterlee chose the outside and maintained the lead when the race resumed.

Miley and Jeff Rine found something on the bottom of the track and moved into the top five.  The yellow flag flew again on lap 10 for debris on the speedway.

Yoder drifted high on the restart and Miley, Covert, Rine, and Shaun Jones got by.

Miley turned on the afterburners, went after Satterlee, and blew by him coming off turn four on lap 12.

Track points leader Coleby Frye slowed with a blown tire on lap 22 wiping out a sizable points lead going into the night.

Satterlee pressured Miley high and Yoder drove back into third.  With five to go Miley was able to gain some breathing room but a third turn spin tightened the field for a green-white-checkered finish.

Miley led the rest of the distance winning over Satterlee, Yoder, Cosner, and Jason Covert.

“I was nervous on that last restart, “ Miley said in Victory Lane.  “We had four or five of the best drivers on the east coast here and to beat them is amazing. This is an all new car tonight but we learned a lot from before and put that setup in the car.”

Devin Adams won the 20-lap PASS/IMCA 305 sprint car feature.

Brandon Moser won the 15-lap pro stock race and Jake Jones was the winner of the 12-lap roadrunner race.