McClelland Survives Wacky Trail-Way Night


HANOVER, Pa. – Brad McClelland scored his fourth victory of the season Friday night in a bizarre 358 sprint-car feature at Trail-Way Speedway.

“I don’t know what to say about this race, but a win is a win,” McClelland said. “I nearly spun a few times myself. Guess I was trying to make a race of it. I thought I’d better take it easy.”

McClelland drew the number-four pill for the start, but ended up on the front row after a first-lap crash which resulted in a flip by fifth-starting Robbie Kendall on the backstretch. Kendall made contact with a spinning Tyler Buchenauer exiting turn two, with Buchenauer sliding into the infield. One-time winner Kendall was uninjured.

After the red flag, McClelland started beside polesitter Seth Kearchner and took the lead at the drop of the green. He ran away from the field en route to a non-stop time of 6:07.31, crossing a quarter of-a-lap ahead of Kearchner, with hard charger Randy Whisler (who came from ninth starting spot), Isaac Sneeringer (who changed a flat tire during the first-lap red and came from the rear), and rookie Wyatt Hinkle rounding out the top five.

They were the only cars that finished the event, with several cars dropping to the infield during the non-stop race, and only the top four cars running on the lead lap at the checkered.

It was McClelland’s division-leading 37th Trail-Way sprint car win.

Heats for the 12 358 sprint cars on hand were won by McClelland and Kendall.

Brian Marriott scored the win in the 20-lap Mason/Dixon 270cc micro-sprint feature.

Marriott started on the outside of the front row, but chased polesitter and leader Bill Laughman for the first three laps before Laughman stopped on the track during a fourth-lap caution.

Laughman restarted at the rear and came back through the field to finish fifth. Marriott led the rest of the way, with Steven Cox, Cory Myers, and Jim Still crossing second through fourth.

Dan Furman claimed his second win of the year and the 13th of his Trail-Way career in the 20-lap street stock feature.

Furman started sixth and took the lead from Jim Jacobs on lap three. Two laps later, third-starting Craig Wagaman took the lead, and he paced the field for the next six laps before losing front left tire pressure and turning the lead back over to Furman on lap 11. Wagaman eventually brought out the caution when his tire went flat and he didn’t finish.

Patrick McClane came from eighth starting spot to finish second, with Michael Goodwin, ninth-starting Matt Wampler, and Chad Stine completing the top five.

Kenny Startzman picked up his first career win in the 15-lap limited stock feature.

Previous articleThree First Timers At Luxemburg
Next articleCrapser Is A Rock Rapids Iron Man is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.