McClelland Survives Trail-Way Mayhem


HANOVER, Pa. – Brad McClelland spent a moment looking at the moon en route to his second win in as many races in the 25-lap 358 sprint-car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

McClelland started fifth and was challenging Robbie Kendall for second when Kendall’s car lost a drive shaft and the Rucker Computer Solutions No. 6R ran up over the fuel tank of Kendall on the front stretch as the cars were passing under the flagstand.

McClelland’s front wheels were actually in the cockpit of the No. 55 car from the middle of the front stretch to the first turn, but McClelland dropped off Kendall’s car and never stopped.

“I was looking at the moon for a few moments,” said McClelland in victory lane. “I rode him for a little bit and it finally let loose. I wasn’t sure if I had any damage, and I didn’t know how hard to run it.”

Kendall came to a stop in turns one and two, bringing out the event’s only caution flag. McClelland was placed second for the restart.

Although he didn’t know how hard to run it, it took McClelland less than a lap and-a-half to drive around outside front row starter and race-long leader Jeff Halligan in turn two of lap 17. From there, he drove away from the rest of the field for his 35th career Trail-Way 358 sprint car win.

Halligan crossed second, with polesitter Dwight Leppo, Cody Fletcher, and Randy Whisler completing the top five in the eight-car field.

In addition to winning the race, McClelland received what he believes is his tenth pewter plate on York County Racing Club Night. He also received another gift certificate from Mike’s Crab House as the hard charger of the race.

McClelland was also the winner of the lone qualifier.

Sixteen-year-old rookie C.J. Quirk, driving only his sixth race, claimed his first career win in the 20-lap Central PA Legends feature.

Quirk started on the pole and led every lap, followed at the finish by points leader Bill Diehl, Chris Transeau, defending tour champ Bob Stough, and Chad Earnst. Heats for the 21 Legends were won by Travis McClelland and Diehl.

Jim Still also led every lap in claiming the win in the 20-lap 270cc Micro-Sprint feature. The race for second was torrid, with Steven Cox holding off 15th-starting Brian Marriott and tenth starting Brent Bull at the finish. Levi Peck completed the top five.

Heats for the 18 Micros were won by Bull and Cox.

Cory Weishaar started on the pole, yielded to Shannon Weaver on the first lap, and then claimed the lead for good on lap two and scored the win in the 15-lap Limited Stock feature.

Weaver actually faded to fourth before reclaiming third from Jeff Foster on lap 13 and then catching a slowing Matt Chronister on the final lap after Chronister made contact with Weishaar while battling for lead.

Chronister crossed third, followed by Foster and Tom Senseney Jr.

Qualifiers for the 16 Limited Stocks were won by Weishaar and Seneney. Weishaar’s six-lap qualifying time of 1:58.06 knocked an exact second off the old track record held by Matt Chronister back in 2011.

Previous articleHindman & Skeer Speed In Monterey
Next articleAnother MX-5 Cup Trophy For John Dean is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.