McClelland Is The Man At Trail-Way


HANOVER, Pa. – Brad McClelland started on the pole and led every lap for his fifth win of the year in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“We’ll take it. We got a good pill draw and the track was slick tonight,” McClelland said.

McClelland dominated throughout, crossing 4.88 seconds ahead of Seth Kearchner at the checkered flag.

Invader Mark Bitner was third, with Cody Fletcher finishing fifth.

Shawn Seifert also led every lap from the pole in the 20-lap 600cc micro-sprint feature. Though he was never seriously challenged, Seifert did have to withstand several cautions and one red flag, which came out for a double-flip by Hannah Riser and Travis Scott in turn four of lap six. Bo Gordon, Jr., Brad Weber, Jim Young, and Bret Cronrath completed the top five.

Twin 1000cc “Sidewinder” micro-sprint features were won by Jim Young and Keith Ford. Young, celebrating his 55th birthday, also led every lap from the pole in the first 15-lapper.

Mike Zielonis, Rohan Beasley, Austin Quick, and Brandon Yarett completed the top five in the first feature. Keith Ford, who suffered a flat tire and dropped from the first feature, took the lead from his outside front row starting spot and led every lap of the second feature. His win in the non-stop event established a new Trail-Way “Sidewinder” track record of 4 minutes, 5 seconds.

Hannah Riser (doing double duty in the two micro-sprint divisions), Quick, Jerry Strausbaugh, and Young finished second through fifth.

Shane Miller started fourth and became the third different leader on lap six in scoring his first win of the year in the 15-lap limited stock feature.

Outside front row starter Mike Wolf led the first three laps before fifth-starting Terry Hartlaub took the lead. He led laps four and five before Miller took the lead. He led the rest of the way, with Shannon Weaver coming from eighth to finish second. Third through fifth were ninth-starting Kyle Rohrbaugh, 11th-starting Matt Chronister, and Jason Chronister.

Jeremy Stremmel claimed his third win of the year in a wild 20-lap street stock feature that saw him lead the first 12 laps and the last four laps.

Stremmel got out of shape in turns three and four and handed the lead to fifth-starting Eric Johnson on lap 13. Johnson led the next three laps before a charging Dan Furman (now in second) bumped Johnson and got both drivers out of shape in turns one and two of lap 16. Third-place Chad Stine took to the low side and Stremmel went around the outside to take first and second, with Stine scored the leader of lap 16.

One lap later, Stremmel reclaimed the lead for good, with Johnson settling for second in his first Trail-Way appearance. Stine, Cory Weishaar, and David Johnson completed the top five.

The finish:

Brad McClelland, Seth Kearchner, Mark Bitner, Isaac Sneeringer, Cody Fletcher, Dwight Leppo, Randy Whisler, Wyatt Hinkle, Tyler Buchenauer, Cody Faircho, Zach Euculano

Previous articleFive Take Trophies At Luxemburg
Next articleTwo Join List Of Marshalltown Winners is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.