Marks Stays Hot With Port Royal Score


PORT ROYAL, Pa. – Brent Marks beat a highly competitive field of 410 sprints to record his first ever Port Royal Speedway victory on Saturday night, taking $3,000 for the win while becoming the 11th different winner in 12 events held at the track so far this season.

In the super late model main Tim Smith Jr. continued the trend of no repeat winners in the division by becoming the 10th different pilot to visit victory lane in as many races this season while also setting a new 20-lap track record in the affair.

And in the 305 sprint main Tyler Bear became the first repeat winner of the year in the class.

Marks started second in the 25-lap 410 sprint main and took the lead when the race began over Ryan Taylor and Doug Esh. Fifth starter Rick Lafferty had no problem passing in the event and drove up to second with three away in the race before the first caution flag of the event unfurled with five in the book.

The restart placed Lafferty, Esh, Taylor and Mike Wagner in line behind the leader. Greg Hodnett blasted from sixth to fourth when action resumed while eighth starter Blane Heimbach also began a march into contention.

A second and final caution period regrouped the field with 12 laps to go, finding Heimbach up to fifth by that point. Hodnett jumped into third on the restart and as the race wound down Lafferty began significantly biting into MarksÂ’ advantage.

With five to go the front four cars of Marks, Lafferty, Heimbach now up to third and Hodnett were within a half straightaway of each other, working through traffic to finish the race.

With less than three laps to go Lafferty made his move for the win, taking the lead underneath Marks in the second corner but when Marks saw his challenger it seemed to hoist his elbows up just a bit.