Manmiller Continues Grandview Streak


BECHTELSVILLE, Pa. – Doug Manmiller has never won a championship at Grandview Speedway but it looks like the veteran racer is going to be a major factor in the battle for the NASCAR 358 Modified championship as he won his third 358 modified feature of the season on Saturday night.

Sean Merkel was able to grab his second win of the season in the BRC Late Model feature race while Jared Umbenhauer made it a night of repeat winners as the defending Sportsman champion grabbed his third straight feature win.

Mike Laise took the early lead at the onset of the Modified feature and the next lap Kyle Follweiler brought out the yellow with a right rear flat tire on the homestretch. Laise was still in command on the restart trailed by Arnold, Chris Gambler, Andy Ressler and Kevin Hirthler, who was on the move.

A seven-car tangle between turns one and two brought out the caution on the third circuit. Taking a hard hit and eliminated was Hirthler. The other cars involved made a quick pit stop and rejoined the action. It was still Laise ahead of the pack when racing went green.

The third caution was for Eric Biehn when he lost power on the homestretch on lap four. That didn’t deter Laise and he kept Arnold, Norris Jr., Manmiller, on the move on the outside from 16th behind.

Within a few laps Laise was in a race of his own building up a half a lap lead encountering lapped cars.

The pack regrouped on the 14th lap when Craig Von Dohren, the defending point champion, was against the third turn boilerplate after contact with another car and was out of contention. The restart saw a lead change as Arnold bolted into first with Norris and Manmiller advancing to second and third with Laise back to fourth. Trying to get into the mix were Meme DeSantis from his 21st consi win spot and Duane Howard, 13th-place starter.

Behind Arnold cars were constantly swapping spots back and forth and by the 19th lap Manmiller was pressuring him for the lead.

Manmiller became the third different leader of the event on the 21st lap. Trying to chase Manmiller down with five to go were Norris, DeSantis, Howard and Arnold.

Positions never changed and at the wave of the checkered it was Manmiller in the winner’s circle. Second through fifth were Norris, DeSantis, Howard and Arnold.

Previous articleStrohl, 14, Takes Mahoning Win
Next articleSchultz Victorious At Central Missouri is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.